We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent dinner.”
Review of Thatchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thatchers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leatherhead
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a family dinner in the restaurant. The roast beef was very good but the vegetables were sparse and under cooked. The roast potatoes were burnt and the yorkshire pudding seemed shop-bought. There was no French mustard. The service was over-intrusive. We don't go to a restaurant with our family to be chatted up by the staff. The service was not too bad but the tepid coffee slopped in the saucer with a "whoops I've spilled your coffee" was not admired. I wish she had at least tipped the slops out of the saucer. Had we been charged a tenner a head I would not have been over critical, but thirty pounds a head was over the top. We know that hotels put more money, expertise and training into the hotel side of things than a restaurant would do and their chefs and waiters are second thoughts, but again the prices should reflect that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank NinaKeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear NinaKeay thank you for leaving your comments, they are important to us. They will be discussed with my kitchen and restaurant team at our next meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Fantastic wedding venue!, we had the best day, very attentive staff, very accommodating, they couldn't have done more for us, especially Clinton the wedding co-ordinater he was brilliant. We had canapés, a wedding breakfast meal and a buffet in the evening and every aspect was delicious. The rooms were all clean and comfortable, overall I would 100% recommend this venue for your special day, Thankyou very much to Clinton, Don, Carey, the fantastic chef and all the lovely staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michgo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Great to hear how much you enjoyed your day and we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Ramada in September 2013 and Clinton and his team (including Don who was amazing on the day) made sure our day ran smoothly. All guests were raving about the venue.

Clinton and his team went above and beyone to make it a great day. For example, my maid of honor had her 5 week old baby along. Her parents were helping take care of baby so she could enjoy the day. Baby was fussing and crying during dinner so her parents had to go back to their room. Don arranged for their meals to be sent up to their room no problem. It's those extra thoughtful touches that helped.

One meeting with Clinton and he gives you a feeling of confidence. You know you can trust him on the day not to forget anything. He also has a detailed checklist that we went through about a week before the wedding that helped us with stuff we hadn't even thought of.

The only complaint we had is the party couldn't last longer as everyone was having such a good time!

I would highly recommend the Ramada for a wedding venue - amazing staff, ace food, pretty setting and excellent value for money. There were no hidden costs and Clinton was very flexible and accomadating as far as customizing our wedding package to our needs and budget.

Thanks again Clinton and Don!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thanks for your comments Jillian S and lovely to hear that your guests were raving about the venue. Our team love to see our guests enjoy their special day and we too wish the party could have lasted longer. We shall see you next year to carry on the celebrations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had 2 rooms and our experience was really mixed. There were many things we really liked, for example, the spacious clean room, excellent power shower, comfortable chair and footstool, lovely location and grounds and it was really quiet. For all that I would give a 5. However, the customer service was weak. We had an intruder in one room at 12.30 pm claiming to be security ... When we reported this at reception the next morning we discovered security never enter occupied rooms and they seemed really unconcerned. Checkout involved no eye contact or real interest in our stay. And the bed was rock hard (a personal thing I know) but that plus intruder meant little sleep. For these reasons an average rating and unlikely to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lynette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Lynette N, I am concerned to hear your comments and I have tried to call you on several occasions to discuss your concerns since your departure however to no avail. If you have an opportunity could you please call me? Lovely to hear you liked your room and our location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had my wedding here last year (2012) and it was a joy. Wonderful staff and wonderful food with a great relaxed atmosphere. The staff could not do enough for us, Clinton the wedding co-ordinater is very organised and will answer any questions or concerns you have for your big day. The reception room looked stunning and the private guests breakfast the following day was a lovely touch. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable, I would recommend anyone hold their wedding or event here. Thanks to the staff at Ramada Guildford for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

HelsHol great to hear such lovely feedback about the team. We hope you return this year to celebrate your anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had our wedding here nearly two weeks ago and I stayed the night before on the Friday with some family members. The staff were so polite and helpful and couldn't help enough with anything we needed. The food was lovely both the night before the wedding and everyone commented how nice the food was for the wedding breakfast. Big thanks to Clinton for all your help in the lead up to the wedding and to Don who without you I would of been a nervous wreck, they take good care of you and look after everything so you don't have to worry. Thank you so much !!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a wedding and also for staying over the rooms are all decorated really nicely and lovely and clean. We are already planning our night stay for our anniversary next year.
Thanks again Mr & Mrs Mayzes :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

And we look forward to welcoming you Mr & Mrs Mayzes. It was a pleasure to host your wedding day and we couldn’t be happier that everything was perfect for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We got married at this hotel in September 2013, and it was fantastic. Clinton, the wedding coordinator, is a real star. He was always willing to answer questions, no matter how trivial, in the run-up to the event, and he made us feel very confident that everything would run smoothly. He had lots of useful advice, but at no stage did we feel like he was "taking over", it was our event that his team were facilitating. We expected some sort of small hitch on the day, due to the number of different things that had to be organised (ceremony, wedding breakfast, party, accomodation etc), but everything ran perfectly. Clinton and his team made us feel very at ease on the day, so that we could simply enjoy a wonderful day and not worry about anything. We had lots of very positive feedback from all our guests about the day and everyone enjoyed it tremendously. The ceremony was beautiful, the wedding breakfast was delicious and the party was a lot of fun. Overall, we couldn't recommend this venue more highly if you are considering a wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveH9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

SteveH9876 it is really lovely to hear such wonderful feedback about Clinton, our team, the hotel and your wedding day. Our team truly are an asset. I am glad we were able to make it special for you. We look forward to welcoming you and your new wife back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leatherhead
0.3 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
1,079 reviews
5 mi away
Travelodge Leatherhead
Travelodge Leatherhead
#2 of 3 in Leatherhead
228 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#2 of 4 in Cobham
464 reviews
5 mi away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,755 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchers Hotel

Address: Guildford Road | East Horsley, Leatherhead KT24 6TB, England (Formerly Ramada Guildford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Leatherhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leatherhead
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thatchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Guildford / Leatherhead Hotel Leatherhead
Ramada Leatherhead
Leatherhead Ramada
Thatchers Hotel Leatherhead, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing