We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thatchers Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$278
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Leatherhead(Leatherhead)(Great Value!)
US$83
Travelodge
View Deal
US$85
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$102
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs(Epsom)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Cobham M25(Cobham)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel(Epsom)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel(Chessington)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Epsom Central(Epsom)(Great Value!)
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
188
175
128
80
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
175
128
80
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding coordinatorafternoon tearamada hoteleast horsleybuffet stylewould highly recommend this hotelbar foodan overnight stayplenty of parkingan evening mealstayed here for one nightfull english breakfastthorpe parkvenuejetsguildforddisco
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked as a deal, including dinner and a visit to Denbies vineyard. We enjoyed our stay here and it was good value. The garden is a pleasant place for a drink, although there is noise from the road. The rooms are of a good size and well maintained, no air conditioning but there was a fan which was adequate. The restaurant was good, but limited choice if you have the dinner included in a package deal. I think the drinks are on the expensive side. The staff were really helpful and professional. Breakfast was good, buffet style. Food did run out as there was a large party in the hotel but there was plenty to eat. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was both very surprised, and a little concerned, when i was able to book a double room for 50 GBP in the middle of July. Most other local hotels were full, or were charging 120 GBP upwards, but I decided that my luck was in . When I last stayed at Thatchers, approximately 20 years ago, I remembered it as a high quality hotel, oozing charm, yet offering modern rooms and providing a high level of customer service.
Aside from the obvious changes in personnel, nothing has changed to the interior, and I mean nothing. The rooms are very tired, lacking basic 21st century essentials such as air conditioning, room safes, mini bar to name just a few.
Our stay coincided with a heatwave, aside from some vintage desktop fans and with windows that we were unable to open more than 2 inches, it made for a very uncomfortable stay. Luckily we only used the hotel as a base, because the room was unbearably hot during the daytime. Message to hotel owners: install aircon as England does have warm days on occasion, and certainly has plenty of cold ones.
As I had booked room only rate due to a busy schedule, we did have time for breakfast on day one, which was a complete waste of money and time. We were informed by a surly waitress there was no hot buffet that morning, so that left us with a choice of exactly 3 croissant (they ran out of pastries), a limited selection of fruit , toast and some cereals. After 15 minutes I did receive an English breakfast on a saucer sized plate, not exactly 13 pounds worth!
Bar food / drink prices are a joke, though they have a monopoly on that as the pub nearby, the Duke of Wellington, is appalling.
Some of the positives: the hotel is very well located, offers free parking, good wifi coverage and excellent reception staff.
Based on their website, and extensive advertising within the hotel, they are now mostly targeting weddings and functions as opposed to individual travelers.

I would only stay there again outside of summer or winter and if nothing else local was available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnlg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Legacy Thatcher Hotel
Definitely recommended.
We were booked into another hotel, but after a total mix up due to over booking on the 11th July, it was a desperate attempt to find another hotel close to Godalming for my organised birthday treat. What a delight!. The 19th century Tudor style hotel was wonderful. From start to finish the whole experience run smoothly. The hotel room was large, very clean nicely decorated and catered for your every need. Nice size TV, tea/coffee facilities, iron and ironing board, plenty of room to hang your clothes, and it felt comfortable. The Bathroom was a good size, clean and a great power shower experience.
We took a stroll around the grounds, which were extensive, landscaped and very beautiful, ideal for a wedding day setting. There were so many nocks and crannies to explore, so you didn’t feel hemmed in.
We booked an evening meal in the restaurant, which was really cosy with high beams and a log fire, very nicely laid out and the service was impeccable – very polite and professional. We ordered the Pork Belly and it melted in your mouth. The only fault, there wasn’t enough of it!
We had a very nice evening and a great night sleep, very quiet with no noise. We got up feeling refreshed and went into the dining room for breakfast. Again totally faultless – everything extremely well laid out, plenty of choice and hot.
All in all a lovely hotel, lovely customer service received, in lovely surroundings. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here regularly - now here for 6 nights. They have taken the Club Sandwich off the menu - why?
Husband ordered chicken burger,chips etc. Side order of chips for me - 8 chips.....yes 8 chips for £3.50 - greasy, and soft - arranged in a neat 'jenga' pattern - but sent back. The wonderful Kate W saved the day! Having lost my appetite tonight - She will ensure food is good tomorrow - we can have Club Sandwich!!
A complimentary G&T is going down well. Thank you Kate.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitzhamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just had an overnight stay. All very good. Took bit of a long time to check in and had slight problem with electric lock on room door, but ok when the technique was explained. Everything else was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews