We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and welcome great BUT parking beware”
Review of The Penny Black

The Penny Black
Ranked #28 of 60 Restaurants in Leatherhead
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food and welcome great BUT parking beware”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you park at a nearby supermarket and stay longer than 1.5 hrs a hefty £60 will be added to your costs for the evening.....
However an altogether pleasant place to go for a few drinks w friends

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186338SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrible Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

No yorkshire pudding, no parsnips and a teaspoon size portion of mash. Meat was tasteless, meant to be sirloin but even a steak knife had a problem cutting.
Not cheap compared to other local hostelries.
Good beer but go elsewhere for Sunday roast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Following a quick check of some variable reviews we thought we'd give it a chance. Barman very helpful and landlady made a real effort to explain the menu and what was missing and why.

I ordered Rainbow Trout and my wife Fish and Chips.

Almost immediately the lack of Watercress was identified and an alternative agreed.s

Whilst we only had one course the landlady kept us informed as there was a slight delay as a result of the change to our order. My fish was mouthwatering and came off the skin really easily. The pea sauce and accompanying vegetables were tasty and not over-cooked.

My wife was equally complementary about her Fish and Chips.

Pub was busy and a friendly crowd with families and other groups.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dismal "gourmet" burger”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Alarm bells should have gone off when I was not asked how I wanted my burger cooked. What arrived was overcooked, almost certainly reheated, and served in a dry floury bun which promptly fell apart . Service and drinks were fine, but food wasn't worth premium price. Maybe better on another day of the week, but I will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank newtoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly service, Good choice of lagers, Food is a little basic!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lunch special was Scampi and Chips, but not so special.. Batter was a little hard, tarter sauce bland and chips or is it wedges was

Service was good and friendly and they did have Kirin Lager, a plus point in my book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russe11Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Black also viewed

Leatherhead, Surrey
Leatherhead, Surrey
 

Been to The Penny Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing