We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slow service and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bear

The Bear
Ranked #39 of 59 Restaurants in Leatherhead
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: WELCOME TO The Bear The Bear offers dining throughout, a warm sociable bar area, relaxed back garden with summer barbecue and a stunning front terrace, with service, for both dining and drinks when it is fit to sit outside. All our food is freshly prepared on the premises by our dedicated kitchen team. Our menus are seasonal. You can expect to see influences of this in our core dishes and daily specials. On Sundays we offer prime home cooked roast dinners with seasonal accompaniments. Private dining facilities are also available for an intimate occasion with colleagues, friends or family for parties of up to twelve. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“slow service and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Had been here before and knew it was quite expensive. This trip confirmed this but disappointed as it was not very good. Apart from the hand cut chips. The menu read very nicely but delivered very average food. The service was very slow considering it was not overly busy. Drinks took an age to arrive, the bottled water arrived with butter up the side and one out of the four drinks was completely wrong.
This was a visit we will not be repeating. In an area with so much choice,this is not one of the better ones for food or value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigmac003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    59
    42
    52
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Doesn't make you feel welcome or valued”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

At fave value this looks like it could be a great find.
It's a Young's Establishment and has a good range of Beers/Ales.
It has been refurbished and although this might be part of a Corporate Young's theme it's a bit random, as if they had three interior designers competing and they couldn't decide on whose was best.
Shabby chaotic maybe?
There's a cliche that goes along the lines that you don't get a second chance at a first impression and regrettably our first impression on going to the Bar wasn't that good.
This is based on two visits, so we did give The Bear a second chance.
I guess the word "grumpy" springs to mind.
The first time we had to wait an age for a Sandwich, and we happened to be in a hurry, so we had to take it with us.
The eye roll from the staff, at this request, was straight out of a Hollywood B Movie.
When we went a second time and asked how long the order would take and were greeted with "as long as it takes to cook".
An interesting slant on how to enrich the customer experience.
It's not cheap but the food is reasonably good and well presented.
However The Bear lacks an essential charm and warmth and with a place like The Old Plough in Cobham close by if it's a choice between the two The Bear wouldn't get the thumbs up from us.
Shame as it could do a lot better with a bit of effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“How times have changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stopped here for a drink on the way back from Box Hill for a walk. I had been here many times in the past. WOW how this place has changed. It is now a very weird type of Restaurant that has a bar instead of a pub that also does food. The service was friendly but seemed to lack experience and some of the fixtures and fittings were not finished very well. The seating in the bar is very odd and does not have one theme. The decking however is a godsent that will no doubt be the scene of many a drink during the upcoming summer.
All the signs say Youngs (and from memory this used to be a brewery pub) but definitely a weird place to spend your time.

Helpful?
Thank UncleJona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The service at 'The Bear' was very hit and miss and the waiting staff seemed inexperienced and would have benefitted from some training about the menu. Several dishes on the menu were not available. Waiters were able to serve 2 rounds of drinks for everyone whilst we waited for the starter and when the food eventually came there was no room on the table because used drink glasses had not been cleared (5 people) The food looked well presented and was quite tasty but not particularly memorable. Unfortunately none of my guests felt the meal was particularly good but said if the service had of been better it would have left us feeling better …as it was we felt ignored. I have eaten here several times in recent months as I am quite local and i will try it again but if things do not improve then I will not be returning. It is quite expensive and unfortunately the food is only a little above average for a pub and the service disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“what has happened????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Went with friends a couple of years ago and the whole experience was wonderful. Went last night with a group of friends and frankly feel robbed. The staff didn't seem interested in taking any orders and it was over 90 minutes before we got our food from entering the restaurant. I had a very expensive rack of lamb which was supposed to be medium rare. It arrived raw and I was unable to cut it. It went back to the kitchen and it came back well done and sliced. It was tough, tasteless, no seasoning. The garlic mash had little or no garlic in it and it would have been nice to have trimmed green beans. Rather foolishly then had the sticky toffee pudding which was as dry as old boots and was like eating a brillo pad. Unfortunately it was a friends birthday so felt it inappropriate to complain. Wild horses wouldn't drag me back here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bear also viewed

 
Leatherhead, Surrey
Oxshott, Surrey
 
Leatherhead, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing