We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”
Review of Ditton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ditton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This was the second time my girlfriend and I had stayed at the Ditton Lodge and we were not disappointed!

We arrived earlier than planned and were taken straight up to our room (20) which was light and spacious with a window and skylight! The room has all you need: TV with freeview, very clean and modern en suite shower room, tea and coffee making facilities and even a mini ironing board in the wardrobe!! Plus the wifi is free of charge!

Breakfasts on all days were cooked fresh to order with a selection of fruits, yogurts, cereals and juices. And the large bay window gave a lovely view into the spacious garden!

I would recommend anyone to go to Naturally Chinese in Surbiton which is a 5-10 minute walk away for a well priced evening meal.

The location is great as you don't know that you're on the edge of Kingston Upon Thames which is only a 10 - 15 minute drive away!

I priced up a premier inn to compare for our stay (3 nights) which worked out more expensive!

Ditton Lodge is a fair priced luxury B&B and I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
42
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Beautiful place to stay in. Run by a Persian family. Very friendly and a great full english breakfast. Looked lovely in the snow and the breakfast overlooking the garden would be fantastic in the spring/summer. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

As others have said this is hidden gem and when going to twickenham either Ditton or Villiers Lodge (it's sister property) are always on the list. Very clean, very welcoming, good breakfast, quiet location but close to amenities (shops,buses,trains). Only slight gripe was that there is not even a small discount for single occupancy. We had to have a twin room for two nights but one of us was missing for one night. Now I appreciate a room is a room but there was only 1 breakfast, half the towel laundry etc. I was not expecting half price but a gesture of £5/10 off in lieu of the 2nd breakfast would I think have been good PR. Wont stop me re-booking but will stop it from being automatic choice and will just have a look first. Final thing, parking is provided but can get crowded so if you can get there early to get a spot!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splitnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel is an up market B&B. It is traditional with traditional furniture, very well presented and very clean. The staff cannot do enough to help which contributes to a relaxing stay. breakfast is fresh coked to order with generous portions. They advertise Internet access but despite trying four times I could not log on. Nice basic products in the bathroom and basic tetlley / nescafe tea and coffee in the room. By being a little off the beaten track it is lovely and peaceful.
The hotel is about 15- 20 mins simple walk from the train station at surbiton. I stayed here for a trip to Hampton court palace and got much better value than trying to stay closer. It is well priced for the area. (Taxi to HCP should be less than £15)
Tips: reception closes about 10 so let them know when you are coming. 2 There are no phones in the rooms. 3 If you need internet find out which server to connect to at reception and stay there till you are logged on.
IF STAYING IN ROOM 10 DO NOT USE HAIRDRYER. I GOT MY HAIR STUCK IN THERE AND HAD TO WRENCH IT OUT IN THE END - OUCH.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Ditton Lodge is great value for money. Lovely clean, characteristic room. Power shower which is always a winner. The best thing about the lodge is the team who were lovely. Extremely pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

let me say first that the employees were very nice and the breakfast quite ok too.

This said, we called before making a reservation to see if the family suit was ok for two adults and two teens, and they said it was ok. it was definitely not. When someone tells you suit, you expect two rooms, or a big one. Here we had one, with no place to walk between the beds and no place to arrange our luggage or even the underwear. The shower was a pathetic small cabin.

so, not coming back there

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustavo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This small private hotel has to be one of the best I've stayed in.
The rooms are spotlessly clean with high quality furniture. The bed was large and very comfortable, the room clean and warm. Uncharacteristically for a London hotel, there was no traffic noise and the only sound heard in the morning was the drumming of a woodpecker.
I think the shower was probably the cleanest, hottest and most powerful of any shower I've experienced in a hotel.
Breakfast is a delight, a good range of cereals and fruit with on demand cooked breakfast using really good ingredients.
Very pleasant common areas with a little bar if you fancy a drink, they even found us champagne flutes for our own bottle of champagne.
If there is a fault it is with the parking. There is only a small area for parking and this is not adequately policed, meaning residents have to request cars to be moved sometimes to get in and out.
On balance one of the best, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Ditton
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditton Lodge Hotel

Property: Ditton Lodge Hotel
Address: 47 Lovelace Road, Long Ditton KT6 6NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Long Ditton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditton Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at Ditton Lodge welcome you to their beautiful Edwardian Hotel set in a quiet location convenient for London sightseeing, airports, all London's main motorways and main routes and many places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ditton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ditton Hotel Long
Ditton Lodge Hotel Long Ditton, UK - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing