We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of Frascati

Frascati
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mickleham
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this restaurant as a Mothers Day lunch venue, we were hoping for good food, wine, friendly service and a comfy atmosphere. Where do we start... The cold conservatory where we sat, the slow service for drinks, the lack of a bottle of Frascati, these were all items we thought were quirky and might be thought charming. Even the abrupt and rude way the waiter took our orders made us laugh as we were looking forward to a lovely Sunday lunch. Sadly when the food arrived we were very disappointed. The prawns were frozen that came with the avocado. The avocado barely resembled its former self as it had been carved to remove all bad spots. The roast beef and lamb were over cooked and all accompanying veg was tasteless. We never received the veg and potatoes for one order. The horseradish dish came encrusted with old residue and when we'd finished with it was whisked to another table, not in line with H&S. Cheesecake was a dessert option and when ordered was not homemade and contained chocolate which had not been mentioned. This wasn't finished. During the meal, the wine rack above our table was accessed but without any acknowledgement that we were there. Finally coffee was ordered (probably the best thing served) and the milk arrived in a teapot without the lid, quirky. However, the teapot came complete with tea stains.
As we left the table behind us were being served their meals, they had ordered a mix of fish and chicken but had all been given chicken and were now being asked if that was OK, the answer was no. I suspect that we are not the only family to have had a disappointing Mothers Day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VerityDab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    19
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing birthday surprise”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked a surprise birthday dinner for my husband and family members. I explained when i phoned i wanted something special as it was a birthday. I was reassured everything would be taken care of. There was 1 waiter on duty we were left to find our own table. The light was flickering at the table we had chosen. We therefore moved to another table there was another table of three people near us. There were no other diners so one would expect attention. The dining table was missing some cutlery and glass ware. We did not have any complimentary bread sticks.The waiter was pleasant enough but lacked experience. He took our orders and failed to ask two of us how we would like our steaks cooked and we waited to see how long it would take before the penny dropped. Eventually the waiter came back to ask how we would like the steak cooked. There was no ambiance and initially there was some Italian music then nothing played. I had to ask for music to be put on only to find it on a loop then Abba music. Where is the Italian theme? Some of the food was luke warm but we did not complain. I doubt if the waiter had been told ot was a special birthday evening. There were no frills. In the past i have dined here you were warmly greeted you were shown to your seats you felt special and you were offered a free limoncello shot at the end of your meal. We weren't on this occasion. My jacket was on a hook outside of the walkway from the kitchen. Not an area coats should be placed where they could be knocked and also absorb the smells of the food. The ladies toilet needed re-decorating wallpaper torn off the wall and the overall decor needs updating. The evening was spoilt. Then the paying of the bill i requested it and 10 minutes later still no bill, i went searching for the waiter. He was struggling to total the bill and paying by card was a disaster the terminal crashed which the waiter informed me it had happened before. Then realising the phone lead shared the terminal lead he proceeded to swop them over. The whole restaurant appears to be on it's last legs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delighted580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

These days we're obsessed with new restaurants and sub-gastro pubs. Most are chains and behind the fancy decor the same old food options are assembled rather than cooked, standards are low and most of the time we're pretty easily pleased.

What a relief it is to walk into a place that is the complete opposite. The decor is quite dreadful but who cares, the thing that really matter - the food - is fantastic. Not only is it clearly cooked by a chef who knows exactly what he's doing but it isn't even expensive. Service is great too and the sweet trolley is sublime. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramber, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Frascati for years. If it is considered dated by some, it is a shame all the other 'dated' restaurants have gone, because we like old-fashioned good service and politeness, such as one still finds in Europe.
We usually have the set menu, which is a bargain and very enjoyable. There is one particular pudding we always have if we have room for it; it begins with 'M'.
Because we no longer live nearby, we cannot visit Frascati so often, which is sad. We cannot understand why local people don't go in huge numbers, and we hope that it will outlive us!
Perhaps people prefer impersonal, impolite service and run of the mill food these days. That is quite likely in the England of today.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having read some not so complimentary reviews, we booked a table for 4 with a little trepidation. However, we wanted somewhere different, having exhausted all other local eateries.
The restaurant was half full, but that was fine. enough of an atmosphere yet able to have a pleasant conversation without having to raise our voices. The decor was fresh and comfortable.
We enjoyed the food, with our steaks done as we asked.
The staff were friendly and we thought the bill reasonable. Would have given 3 and a half stars, as would rate good. Not average, but not very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WoW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frascati also viewed

 

Been to Frascati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing