We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Running Horses
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
174
85
39
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
85
39
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroast beeffish cakesfor sunday lunchold churchlivercoffee machinecomfortable roomspretty churchlovely roomfull english breakfaststayed for one nightan overnight stayrunning horsegatehousesurreyiain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great evening in great surroundings. Food was superb. I can not say how good the food was. Well presented and amazingly high quality. Serving staff were welcoming and polite at all times, and attentive to all our needs. The evening flew by and we wished we could have stayed longer. Should have stayed the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I used this as a business stopover near to the M25
Given it's combination of oldworld charm and location I think that the accomodation offers really good value for money.
The food by comparison is a bit on the expensive side but was of good quality
Being a Real Ale fan I was pleased to see that they had a good range of beers on offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Running Horseshoes has always been a favourite for pub food lovers, fine diners and in the summer, walkers & ramblers. It all kinda of worked – used to love it. Things have changed. Things need changing. First the furniture – old, tired and actually quite dirty. Then the menu which would be great if it delivered. Food under cooked although this was taken off the bill. Two of the dishes not available. All to be washed down by such a high priced wine list for a pub, it is out of the reach of many! Also the service. General bar area needs to decide if it is waitress service or if you need to order at the bar. Don’t blame the customer if they presume that waitress service is within the general bar area. Not as good as it used to be

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked this via laterooms (so got a fairly good deal), and after a few phone calls to The Running Horses I was a little worried that our reservation had not been received - management of the pub just felt chaotic.

So, if you can deal with the management being like that, then this could be the place for you. We had food in the bar which was excellent, the room was really comfy and, to say our room was directly above the bar, we heard very little noise and got a great night's sleep. Room was a little tired at the edges and wouldn't have been impressed if I had been paying full price for the room.

Breakfast was disappointing to be honest - not a fantastic choice.

Was a very small issue over the bill as they wanted us to pay for the room again at check-out! But this was all sorted pretty quickly, without a lot of fuss - just seemed to demonstrate a possible internal lack of communication between management and staff.

Room Tip: Parking was a bit of a problem in the village - maybe because we stayed on a Saturday night - so be aware if carrying a large suitcase. Check in and pull up car by side door of pub where you can drop off your luggage.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzsaw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stopped here many times over the years and its one of my favourite places that I have shared with someone special in my life. The food is great and the breakfast to die for. The rooms are really full of character and have twisted floors and beams. Nice comfy beds and big wide screen tellies.

Its also nice walking area, go up Box Hill and take in the views

You will not go wrong here - Trust Me

Room Tip: If you can ask for the gatehouse/lodge which is about 50 yards up the road, a self contained little house, definitely somewhere to take someone to impress or leave good memories
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews