We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Running Horses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Running Horses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had a lovely day and overnight here recently. Lovely staff and excellent service. Food was amazing, had lunch and dinner. Accommodation very quaint and of a high standard. Very clean and great location.

Room Tip: Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendiPaul7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Found this pub in a Google search of best food pubs in Surrey. Whilst the pub had atmosphere, the found itself was average for the price. £9.95 for a roast beef baguette and £7 for a tiny pudding was ridiculous. Additionally, the clientele were snobbish and we felt like outcasts intruding on their walkers Paradise...not helped by the ex-hippies with 'down with armed forces'. Personally, as a 15 year veteran I took offense...I visited the pub for a nice lunch not a political experience. On the plus side, the staff were courteous and helpful. Nevertheless, will not recommend to my friends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lovely place but no-one really seems to care enough. Food is nearly there but pricey, beer is average, staff change by the week and it shows in terms of most of them don't seem to give a monkeys ('most', there is the odd good one). Breakfast was a highlight, the room was okayish but again quite pricey. Would I come again, probably because Work are paying but I wouldn't spend my own money...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cybersloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We didn't stay here but popped in for some lunch before heading for a walk around Norbury park. Staff were really friendly, there were two roaring fires on the go which I love. There were lots of walkers in the pub with their cute doggies! Food was lovely, I had the scallops with black pudding and pancetta, belly pork with creamed sprouts and steak and Guinness puff pastry pie. I was too full for dessert! Defo would go again, lovely!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kimberleycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great evening in great surroundings. Food was superb. I can not say how good the food was. Well presented and amazingly high quality. Serving staff were welcoming and polite at all times, and attentive to all our needs. The evening flew by and we wished we could have stayed longer. Should have stayed the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I used this as a business stopover near to the M25
Given it's combination of oldworld charm and location I think that the accomodation offers really good value for money.
The food by comparison is a bit on the expensive side but was of good quality
Being a Real Ale fan I was pleased to see that they had a good range of beers on offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Running Horseshoes has always been a favourite for pub food lovers, fine diners and in the summer, walkers & ramblers. It all kinda of worked – used to love it. Things have changed. Things need changing. First the furniture – old, tired and actually quite dirty. Then the menu which would be great if it delivered. Food under cooked although this was taken off the bill. Two of the dishes not available. All to be washed down by such a high priced wine list for a pub, it is out of the reach of many! Also the service. General bar area needs to decide if it is waitress service or if you need to order at the bar. Don’t blame the customer if they presume that waitress service is within the general bar area. Not as good as it used to be

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleham
0.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
5 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Beaverbrook - The House
Beaverbrook - The House
#1 of 3 in Leatherhead
37 reviews
14 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,187 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Leatherhead
Travelodge Leatherhead
#2 of 3 in Leatherhead
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Running Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Running Horses

Address: Old London Road | nr Dorking, Mickleham RH5 6DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Mickleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleham
Price Range: £64 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Running Horses is a perfect country inn at the heart of picturesque Mickleham village in the Surrey hills. Step inside and you’ll discover one of the most charming places to eat and stay in Surrey. Dating back to the 16th century, it was once a coaching house. Back in those days, the inn’s clientele provided rich pickings for highwaymen. Thankfully, things are a little more peaceful these days, but some traditions live on. You’ll still find wonderful home-cooked British food, made with the freshest ingredients, accompanied by a wine list to compare with the top restaurants. The Running Horses has been family owned and run for the last fifteen years. And because we’re not part of a chain, the inn is full of character and individual touches. You’re guaranteed a warm welcome from the moment you enter the cosy bar with its roaring log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Running Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Running Horses Hotel Mickleham
Running Horses Mickleham
The Running Horses Mickleham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing