We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living like a lord and lady, even if just for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Living like a lord and lady, even if just for one night.”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Having visited the Spa facilities in the past, I'd always had in mind this place for a special night away. But I didn't realise how special a place it really is! The building is truly beautiful, with all the rooms a Downton dreamer could ask for: wooden galleries and panelling, stained glass windows, intricate details on the masonry; everywhere a delight for the eyes. Our room was lovely, with a view over the countryside; the howling wind and beating rain on the glass only made it more romantic. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The staff were really friendly and attentive meaning you did feel rather like a lord or lady, even if only for a night. The Spa was not as splendid in comparison so I wouldn't recommend going just for a spa experience. We enjoyed a couple of hours there, but it was the Priory itself that made it such a memorable night. The evening meal was lovely too, with a good choice from the menu, even for a fussy eater.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and score.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is great to hear how comfortable the beds are - these have been replaced across the hotel fairly recently. I hope the weather will be better for you next time around!

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    278
    161
    95
    61
See reviews for
160
491
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We only have amazing things to say about the staff and in particular, Shaun, the wedding coordinator at Nutfield. We visited in November with an enquiry about a late availability wedding and got married 5 weeks later on Saturday 28th December with a wedding party of about 60. The point most worth highlighting was that not once did we feel like we had to make a compromise, we got exactly the wedding we would have planned if we had taken 18 months, in 5 weeks. Everything we asked for, whether it was a different dessert to those on the menu choices that they made especially for us (chocolate fondant and honeycomb ice cream....so good!) or a separate room for a family breakfast the next day (which they laid out with all our table decorations), they were happy to do without any fuss or bother.

The florist that is included in the package did an amazing job and the Christmas decorations that were already in place, made the venue feel festive and intimate and relaxing. The photos are lovely, especially those taken in front of the big stained glass window and the entrance archway,

The food was remarked on by all of our guests and particular thank you to the chef and his team for serving up hot, perfectly cooked salmon, despite us running massively over time on the before dinner speeches.

The team were so attentive, a big thank you to Thus who literally made us feel like VIPs all day, doing whatever was needed and checking everything was as we wanted it to be, he moved our music around every room, turned the heating down, took stuff back to the room for us, got our suite made up again after we'd used it to get ready in...nothing was ever any trouble and he did it all with his usual big smile.

Our wedding day was a very special day for lots of reasons and we're both so happy that we chose to entrust Shaun and the team at Nutfield with our big day, we couldn't have asked for a more romantic venue or a more attentive team. Thank you for making our dream come true!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

The team will be delighted to know how much of an impact they had on making your special day such a success. We are very pleased that you chose Nutfield Priory and that your dream was realised. I will be sure to thank those team members involved - especially Shaun and Thus - they will both be thrilled.

Wishing you all the very best with your new life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What can I say - a lovely building with a library, lounge with an ancient organ, beautiful suites and, best of all, some truly spectacular food at very, very reasonable prices. Only thing that lets it down is the spa, which is basically a community leisure centre next door. Treatment there was good but the spa had none of the ambience of the hotel, and pool/steam room small and a bit grotty. Still, if you're into gourmet food at a reasonable price (about £40 for 3-course dinner, and also wonderful breakfast), views of rolling hills and historic buildings, you'll love it. Staff were also just the right balance of genuinely friendly but not intrusive.

Room Tip: Save up for a suite - they're worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker27UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Nutfield Priory Hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with the team - especially the kitchen brigade. The club is a modern addition with a private member base and offers an alternative ambience to the hotel itself but I do of course appreciate your comments and will be sure to follow up on your points. I really appreciate your balanced review and wonderful score. We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. All of the staff made us feel very welcome, especially the Resturant Manager and the chef who wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on our dessert plates. The room was comfortable and to a high standard, with an anniverary card waiting for us on arrival. The extra touches made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your anniversary with us at Nutfield Priory. The team will be delighted that they had such a positive impact on your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your thanks - specifically to our restaurant manager and head chef.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife arranged an overnight stay here, with dinner and breakfast.

The main building is quite amazing - not many hotels can lay claim to a working organ - and plenty of places can be found in the public areas to settle down quietly.

We stayed in a suite, which was of a good size. Bathroom was huge. Having a four-poster was a first, but my only criticism of the trip was that the mattress was too soft for both myself and my wife.

Dinner was great, a six-course tasting menu very well executed. Don't bother with anything else but the house wine, it comes from the hotel group's own vineyard in Italy and, although more expensive than the average house wine, is far from average. Breakfast too was excellent, with lovely views from the restaurant of the countryside to the south.

We're now looking for an excuse too go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view south, and the higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Some wonderful comments to read - thank you. I will be sure to share them with the team. I am sorry to hear that the mattress was a little soft for your preference, we have fairly recently replaced these beds across the hotel.

You mention that you are looking for excuses to return - we would be delighted to help provide some additional excuses - so please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance. If you are able to let me know directly, if you do choose to return, so I can make a note on your reservation about your bed preference to ensure we provide a solution.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ispra, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights last winter and I have given Handpicked Hotels a year to respond to my complaints, but have heard nothing. How very disappointing as I was prepared to overlook some of my grievances had they responded satisfactorily. They chose to ignore me,

I think that we had the Byron suite. It was very impressive; over two floors with a very sumptuous bed and gorgeous bathroom. The bedroom has a very impressive view with three large windows (the wind blew mightily against these during the night - very dramatic!) The stairs may be problematic for unfit people, and it seemed that they sent a member of staff unaccustomed to carrying a heavy tray of food up steep stairs for the room-service breakfast in the morning. I cannot emphasize how beautiful the suite was, but, there was a distinct smell of cigarettes in the room which I asked the reception about, but of course, there was nothing they could do. Not to worry; the rest of the hotel was fine and the spa facilities were excellent. The food at breakfast was fine and the setting was lovely.

My other complaint is that on returning to our room at 4 pm the next day, it had not been made up. We telephoned reception and were told that someone would come in the next hour. This did not happen. We telephoned again, but by this point they claimed that they could only send someone to make the bed. We went out to give them some time, but on our return, the bed had been made but the room not cleaned at all. I was so very disappointed when we were paying a good sum of money for the suite. There was also no form of apology for forgetting our room.

Had Handpicked Hotels responded to my disatisfaction, I would have been more inclined to write a positive review, as some of the staff were lovely and helpful. However, they have ignored several e-mails/responses to questionnaires and as a result, I have to conclude that I would recommend that you spend good money elsewhere if you are looking for luxury with good service. Sorry, but I could have been persuaded that this was a one-off oversight as there were some good positives about this hotel, but nobody bothered.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your stay back in February 2013.

I understand from your comments that no one has come back to you following previous feedback. I am not sure whom you sent your feedback too but I would be very happy to discuss your comments with you if you could spare me the time. Please accept my apologies for the negative impression you have been left with, I do hope that I can help to restore your faith in Nutfield Priory and Hand Picked Hotels.

Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for making our day so perfect. Everything went so smoothly and it was all down to Shaun and the brilliant and professional staff at the hotel - we couldn't have asked for more. The food was perfect, the rooms looked amazing and everything right down to the last tiny detail was taken care of. Absolutely magical day.

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy the build up to our big day in comfort - all down to the precision planning by Shaun and the team working with him to ensure everything ran according to plan with minimal worry!

We plan to return to celebrate our anniversary!

Victoria and Rob.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_rob_wedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review.

We are delighted that you chose Nutfield Priory Hotel for your special day. The staff will be thrilled to know that they had such a positive impact on the success of your wedding day. I will of course share your comments with the team, especially Shaun of course.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the very best in your new married life together.

All the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
16.4 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,475 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
21.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
9.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
11.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Property: Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing