We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service levels, unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I booked a Sunday evening Spa stay for two in April for my mother and her partner.

They both found the staff rude and unhelpful. There were no robes provided in the room and the hotel staff did not provide these despite being asked politely on several occasions. They also asked for an ice-bucket several times but were ignored.

I booked and paid via Spa Breaks as a gift yet the hotel mistakenly sent my mother a bill (in the middle of the night) not only worrying her that she had to pay extra but also letting her know how much I paid for her gift.

They enjoyed the sauna and pool but would not stay here again and would certainly not recommend it.

I complained directly to the hotel using their complaints procedure. An assistant manager responded with an apology about the service but then made a very cheap offer of £20 to remedy the situation. I explained that a special occasion had been ruined by the poor service but his response was dismissive.

Room Tip: The spa is OK, the hotel is ruined by the poor customer service. Breakfast was very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Layla198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Visited for a spa day with a friend, on a weekend. The (small, shallow) pool was full of children all day (it is part of the hotel and leisure club), so not at all relaxing, although the steam room, sauna and (small) jacuzzi were OK. Exercise facilities fine but busy. The only area with loungers was a "relaxation room", but this was very dark so no good for reading or chatting. Most of our time was spent in a boring hotel-type lounge. Tea, water and coffee were available free, but things like cups and water kept running out and were not replenished for ages. Lunch (included in our package) was good, but service slow. Treatments were nice. Changing and shower rooms cramped. Not really a proper "day spa" facility.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Smiler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed at the hotel many times and always love this hotel. It is a beautiful house with amazing views, the rooms are amazing and the staff are excellent. It is one of my favourite hotels where you are made to feel at home.

The food is excellent and the spa is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at Nutfield Priory Hotel and Spa in Redhill Surrey. The theme of our weekend was a murder mystery weekend in this marvellous setting, which was the perfect setting for a fun weekend of mysterious happenings for us budding sleuths to work out who where and when! The accomodation and views were truly stunning and the food throughout the whole weekend was to a very high standard! Just perfect the location and the company who organised the weekend. thekillinggame.co.uk Well done everyone! We will be returning again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeewillikersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in June and was completely blown away by the level of service. A beautiful building and wonderful views over the local countryside. Pricy but you get what you pay for. Fully intend to be back there again soon

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel but thoroughly enjoyed afternoon tea with a friend! The beautiful hotel is breathtaking on arrival. Highly recommend taking tea in the old library where the Surrey countryside view can be appreciated! We were there a good couple of hours and we're never made to feel rushed and the tea selection, sandwiches and cakes were unlimited! A lovely place to have a relaxing afternoon and enjoy Afternoon Tea, hope to be back soon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Beautygeek79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very very disappointing! Do not book this if you are seeking a special day. The spa is greedy, too many people, not enough chairs, very average treatments, awful food, not relaxing! The girls on front desk are moody, the level of customer service offered is dreadful, we were not made to feel special,will definitely not be returning!

Stayed: March 2014
9  Thank 1adamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
21.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
11.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
9.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.5 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range: £124 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing