We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but fascinating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The atmosphere is the key in this Hotel. The nunnery and priory has beautiful wood chiseling and carving, and the location makes it pleasant in the greenery. It brings one back to what England's green pastures and woods must have been in the past. One note: the Hotel praises itself on being "green", but all the windows are single panes (!!) and LED lighting is unseen. The drafts are easy to feel around the window frames.The lights in the parking lot are blinding (in the room we had) unless one shuts the curtains, and are on all night. It must be a really costly building in terms of energy, and the waste of it in the winter must be important. So we would advise the management to take a trip to truly "green" hotels (in Germany for example), just to see the difference. Running heating costs must be sky high.
The Hotel is very child friendly, at least for a 7 year old. The breakfast was excellent, and the restaurant facilities have a very nice atmosphere to them and are clean. The charm of the place is unquestionable, the rooms clean, there are coffee/tea facilities in the room, and the staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other side of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldfusionLENR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel & its surroundings as well as the service that the team provided. Thank you for your comments on energy efficiency, we will continue to make improvements in this area.

Wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I went for our 7th anniversary and wanted to get away from it all and get some pampering. We wished for the best but just felt really, really let down. Main observations below:

Beautiful building and setting
Spa treatments excellent
Excellent wines
No one to greet us at door and carry bags
Staff all seem quite flat and a bit sad.
No one seemed to be in charge and there was no feeling of the staff being hosts or hostesses to valued guests.
Repeatedly ignored when sitting on outdoor terrace. Had to go and ask for service inside as a bar stacked high with dirty glasses and crockery.
Champagne ordered prior was delivered to room before we checked in so
was warm by time we arrived
Room was top floor loft room. Really hot and stuffy and small with no view - small skylight only- for £240!
Body odour from one of the waiters Daniel. Nice lad and it's a physical job but come on! It was filling the dining room. The fact that his superiors (if there were any on duty) either allowed this or hadn't noticed it was worrying.
Brown sauce dolloped on our plates at breakfast by a grunting waitress like a greasy spoon cafe.
We spent £650 in total (room + food and drink + spa) on a 1 night stay and just felt this was not value for money. It felt like a mid-tier hotel, not the luxury experience it markets itself as.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor facing the car park as they are small with only a skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I can see from your comments that our usual standards faltered on this particular occasion, please accept my apologies for the impact this would have had on your stay.

If you would like to discuss your stay further - then I would be more than happy to speak with you personally. My direct number is 01737 824401.

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Just had afternoon tea here and what a beautiful venue. JayJay our server was great, loved hearing about all of the different tea's available, not really had that before at other afternoon tea venues. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hangreen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Some wonderful comments - many thanks indeed!

We made some improvements to our afternoon tea a number of months ago and are now enjoying some wonderful feedback and repeat bookings. It is wonderful to read that these improvements have been well received by yourself.

Thank you for your time and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I went to Nutfield with my best friend for just a short hotel and spa break. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by Terence the reception manager who took our bags and had a good old giggle with us!

We were then shown to a gorgeous room with an incredible view of the countryside.

After deciding to stay on site for lunch - a truly epic club sandwich with champagne! We had a stroll around the stunning grounds.

Dinner later that evening was classy and very tasty. We did have to get a side as the portions are slightly on the small side but the flavours are epic. Plus, the staff are so friendly and kind. They defi help to make the trip.

The true highlight - other than the giggles with Terence! - was the spa. Wow! The treatments were lush and so it was so professional. Honestly, the whole experience left us feeling happy and relaxed.

I'm not going to lie, it's not cheap. Even a glass of wine can bring tears to your eyes, but it's worth it just for the setting and staff! We will 100% visit again. Such a good experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charleyknight30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just had a two night break at Nutfield to celebrate our recent engagement. Our room (23) was a good size with mostly woodland views on 2nd floor. Basic products and tea service facilities were in the room, although they do not get replenished. The rooms do get a little warm and the air con struggles, but I liked the character as the room was in the old part.

We had dinner in The Cloisters restaurant both nights. Service was brilliant, perhaps a little slow for some people, but we were in no rush. We had the set menu on night one - canapés followed by three courses - portions not massive, but the total was filling enough. The second night we dined a la carte and treated ourselves to the Chateaubriand for two. Canapés again- but no starter required - it was amazing, the best steak meal we have ever had! Tip - you have to request in advance to get a window table.

Breakfast - we had cooked breakfast both days - superb, more than what you need.

Spa - this is the only reason we did not score a five. It is basic and also open to the public. The treatment area was lovely - I had a full body massage with Annie which was devine. But the pool & jacuzzi, part needs a little updating. There were no slippers with dressing gowns and you feel strange walking through public areas like that.

Overall - very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a peaceful tranquility about the place.
Room 10 large and contempory with beautiful views.
Breakfast is served in the cloisters restaurant again with stunning views over the countryside.
Would recommend the pancakes for breakfast, they were delicious although the full English
Was just as good.

If you are going to use spa book before you arrive as there is limited availabity on arrival.

Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Room 10 is large,quiet with scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was in town just one night and stayed at this hotel. It's a beautiful building, with the common areas being really nice. The rooms were unique, clean, much more modern than I had expected. For a night away, it's a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOB912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
9.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
3.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
21.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
193 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
22.1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range: £131 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing