We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
496
335
185
129
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
335
185
129
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea beautiful building health club hand picked hotels wordsworth suite handpicked hotels surrey countryside separate building byron suite course dinner scones turn down service executive room birthday treat one night stay cream tea coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

My husband took me here to celebrate my 40th birthday.
We stayed on the 2nd floor, check in was swift and we were shown to our rooms.
The room itself was a nice size and clean. It overlooked the carpark which was the only downside (will come on to that later)
We were told nothing about where dinner or breakfast was to be served nor anything about the Spa facilities so off we went to explore. The hotel is amazing and very beautiful. The grounds are tiny we decided to go for a walk and it took about 5 mins..
Dinner was The Cloisters - very nice the food was great and not rushed at all. a special thanks to our waiter (older gentleman he was so great and very animated :)
Sleep was fine on the Friday night the room gets hot so the A/C is a welcome benefit
Breakfast - we had no idea where breakfast was being served so asked reception. It was served in the same place as dinner. Breakfast was amazing probably one of the nicest fry ups I have ever had!
The Spa - Again had no idea about where it was or what to take - we could take our robes and change there. it is not the nicest of walks (across a car park)
The Spa is separate addition, as well as having a gym too. We asked reception if we could walk round, I was surprised that no one could show us around which was a shame.
I booked a treatment for the Sunday and we went off to the pool. the Pool is very small not that relaxing tbh, the sauna/steam room and jacuzzi are all adequate.
Also the reception forgot to give us towels so we had to go back upstairs to get them.
We decided to have lunch in the cafe but were told no food so that was a shame but the gym manager very kindly made us a sandwich and cream tea for 2.
After we went back to the Pool and this is the time children are allowed so they take up quite a lot of the pool so we didn't hang around and decided to head off to Priory Farm instead.
Sat night there was a wedding it was lovely to see the bride and the surroundings. What I didn't like was the drunk guests outside reception/car park shouting swearing etc... there is no double glazing so this was not a great night!.
I would come back to the hotel to stay I would not bother with the spa but maybe for the treatments as the one I had was very nice.
The Spa needs an upgrade and in more in keeping with the hotel and make the walk a more pleasant one from the hotel there is the space to do it and make it such a nicer experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Serena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Serena J,

Thank you for sharing your 40th birthday stay review online. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit however I am sorry that not all of the aspects of your stay were as they should have been.

Our standard is to show each guest to their bedrooms and at least, inform our guests where dinner and breakfast are served. I am sorry that did not happen. I hope that the team members you encountered during you stay were friendly, helpful and showed you around.

In the last 6 months we have refurbished the pool and communal wet area so if you do return, you will notice significant improvement in this area, I am sorry that this project had not been completed prior to your visit.

Thank you for mentioning how great the food was for both dinner and breakfast, our breakfast chef was very happy to hear that he had created one the best fry ups you had ever had!

Thank you once again and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nutfied soon.

With best regards

Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This property is breath taking and the staff is outstanding: very professional and attentive. The food is flavorsome and the dishes are well presented. The only down side about this property is the spa not being inside the hotel itself, making it inconvenient especially when it rains. Unfortunately the pool area is dated and it desperately needs a refurbishment.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the valley.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Mario931

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback online. I am pleased to read that found the staff outstanding, food flavoursome and the hotel beautiful. You will be pleased to know that since your stay last year we have refurbished the pool and wet area so when you return to stay wit us, you will notice a marked difference!

Thank you once again and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

With best regards

Elizabeth
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We visited Nutfield Priory on the weekend of the 29th /30th September. The hotel is an attractive, Victorian Gothic building with impressive public rooms and is set in a rural location. We booked a standard room – it wasn’t particularly large but was clean, comfortable, well- furnished and equipped with all one might need for a short stay. We were pleased to see the room had a safe and air conditioning. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. Everything in the bedroom was in working order apart from one bedside light – the bulb had blown, however, we reported the matter and the bulb was replaced promptly. Our bathroom was a good size, very clean and had a bath with a shower.
We had dinner in the Cloisters restaurant on the first evening. The restaurant is justifiably popular with residents and locals alike so it is advisable to book a table as soon as possible, especially if a particular time is important to you. We didn’t book for dinner until we arrived at the hotel (about 5.00.p.m.) by this time many bookings had already been made and so we were not offered a table until 8.45 pm. which was a little later than we’d hoped for. However, we decided we’d just go to the bar about 8.00 p.m. and have a drink whilst we waited. This proved to be a good idea, firstly, one could browse the menu and order your dinner in advance of sitting down in the restaurant, which saved a little time. Furthermore, our table was made ready for us early, so we were able to sit down about half an hour earlier than planned which suited us very well. The Cloisters restaurant is very attractive and at night is rather romantic with its candle lighting and gothic arches. The food was excellent in every way – quality, quantity, taste and presentation. Service matched the food – excellent throughout the entire evening. Needless to say, we enjoyed ourselves.
After our meal we chose to have a drink – one can sit in a variety of places: the bar itself, the grand hall (most attractive with stained glass windows and high ceilings) or the library – another attractive room – less grand than the hall but cosier. We chose the library and enjoyed browsing through some of the books.
We ate breakfast in the Cloisters restaurant, we had a window seat and enjoyed the wonderful views over the countryside. A cold buffet is provided and one can also have cooked items brought to your table. The service and quality of the food was very good on both the mornings we were there.
The hotel has its own health centre and spa in a separate building about a two- minute walk from the hotel. We used the swimming pool during our stay. The changing rooms were clean and have lockers which require you to punch in your own choice of pass code so you don’t have to worry about getting a coin for the locker or carry a key. The pool itself was a good size (for a hotel pool) and clean. The centre allows children to swim at certain specified times, I think this is a good idea and fair to all guests. We were given information regarding swimming times when we arrived. On the day we visited the pool, about 4.45 on a Saturday afternoon, the pool was virtually empty so it was very easy to have a pleasant, quiet swim.
On the Saturday evening we attended a Murder Mystery evening held at the hotel. The entertainment was provided by an outside company but the meal and service was provided by the hotel. This was enjoyable event in all respects: food, entertainment and service were all very good.
The hotel has plenty of free parking but the signs to it are currently a little misleading. As one heads up the drive one reaches a junction with the Health Centre sign posted left and the Reception basically straight on. As we were checking into the hotel we took the road towards reception where we found a small car park on our right which was full, parking directly outside the hotel seemed to be reserved for disabled guests or cars just dropping passengers off. We retraced our route and went to the Health Centre car park where there were plenty of spaces and very easy access to the hotel. It seemed to us that the Health Centre car park was actually the main car park for the entire venue although it is not sign posted as such.
Overall, we had a very good stay at Nutfield Priory and are likely to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flutefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Flute Fairy

Thank you for staying with us here at Nutfield Priory and for taking your time to share your very detailed feedback online. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner on the first night, breakfast on both mornings, the murder mystery event on your second night, the health club and your bedroom. The team here all work very hard to ensure that every aspect of our guests' stays are as good as they should be and so it is very nice to read that we have succeed in our goal in your case.

Thank you for your helpful comment regarding the signs for car parking which I appreciate would be frustrating if the car parks you were directed to were full. We have 20 spaces in the initial car park you arrive at, then another 10 in front of the hotel (excluding 6 spaces for easy access). There is one sign, albeit rather small, directing guests to "additional parking" at the Health Club car park; perhaps we need to increase the size this sign to make it clear to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback once again and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nutfield Priory soon.

With best regards

Elizabeth
Elizabeth Raine
Deputy General Manager
Nutfield Priory Hotel and Spa
eraine@handpicked.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

First time in this Master Suite room and what a lovely room, with stunning views overlooking the downs, rather than the car park. Tastefully furnished, spacious and lovely bed. Would be absolutely wonderful were it not for the room squeezed into one side of the large footprint, which meant you could hear the next door occupants – and vice versa!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your time to write a review. It is great to read that you felt that the master suite you stayed in was lovely, the furnishings, space and bed. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from neighbouring rooms, we generally do not have an issue with sound proofing, perhaps you would kindly contact me directly so that I can personally investigate the bedroom you were allocated.

Otherwise I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nutfield Priory soon.

With best regards

Elizabeth
Elizabeth Raine
Deputy General Manager
Nutfield Priory Hotel and Spa
eraine@handpicked.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We had not been here for a while, food, service great, nice to have a good fine dinning place local.
If you like steak its to die for
The building is really a great venue for a 5 star evening or weekend.
Will be back in November.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nigel010456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth R, Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Nigel,

Thank you or choosing to stay with us and for taking your time to share a review online. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner; the service, food, location and venue.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same in November.

With best regards,

Elizabeth Raine
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews