We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatton Park

Gatton Park
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Reigate
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had drinks and canapés here after a visit to my daughters school . Lovely setting and fantastic views !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taloolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place for walks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Gatton Park is a nice place for walks for whole family. Far from city, close to nature, makes this place great for escape from city and noise. I reccommend this place for day out or picnic for whole family. You can find more pictures from the area on photo -blog:
http://podroz-travel-trip.blogspot.com/2013/05/spacer-woko-miasteczka-redhill-i.html

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PanPodroznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Snowdrops In Abundance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A beautiful walk around the park with lots of hidden gardens. The snowdrops were beautiful and we rounded a corner and came upon a carpet of yellow aconites. There were also othere spring flowers such as helibores and a few crocus.

We did not walk around the lake as it was still mudddy from all the rain we have had and will save that for next time. Teas were available and there are lots of outside seating too. Dogs are welcome on a lead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A hidden gem inSurrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

What an amazing place. I am not just saying this as an ex-pupil from the 70's but the volunteers have done an amazing job of restoring and the constant up keep of the gardens. There is a wonderful park trail, parts of which can become muddy. Check out the bird hide on the main lake and get to learn about the heronry on the island.

Open on the first Sunday of every month from Feb to Oct and other special occasion days its well worth the visit. Stop off for a tea and a superb peace of cake, I don't remember the cake being that good back in my school days.

Check out their website for more details http://www.gattonpark.com

I strongly recommend the "Gatton Country Fair Day" which is fun for all age groups.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Harbison-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"A Special place to many"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

This place holds some very special memories for me and probably many other people. I was an old scholar here in the 50s and 60s. The grounds have been superbly restored and have been the subject of various TV program's . They are open to the public on specific dates just visit the web site to find out when there are tours etc. Famous as a rotten Borough having its own MP.having also being once owned by The Coleman family famous for making money out of what was left on your plate"Coleman's Mustard" The autumn colours were reflected from the trees in the lakes a lovely place to visit . The school has played a great part in putting the landscape back in a condition that can be enjoyed by all.
Nigel R Edwards.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelEdwards31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gatton Park also viewed

 

Been to Gatton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing