We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very shabby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very shabby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having booked on late rooms and reading that it had been refurbished, we were very disappointed
Thankfully we had only booked one night.
Shabby rooms and dirty carpets, telephone not working and dripping taps.
However bed clean and comfortable and breakfast good.
Would not stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and with a good breakfast.

The hotel was refurbished and it is very much hoped that funds in the future will be available to "touch up" some areas as the popularity of the Bridge house inevitably leads to some wear and tear which we try to keep pace with.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    70
    77
    53
    49
See reviews for
53
78
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having returned to the hotel after many years, I was disappointed to see the results of the 2008 renovation. While the reception area is certainly more modern, the carpet is very dirty on the main walkthrough, so standards haven't been maintained. Groupon advertised a room upgrade on arrival if available, but although we checked in quite early and the hotel didn't appear to be full, this was not forthcoming and the room we were initially given the key to was then suddenly changed to a smaller one.

Why on earth would you replace roomy wardrobes with a small protruding frail rail in the room itself, leaving large empty alcoves? And who thought that 2 coathangers would be sufficient for two people staying for two nights? It's also a mystery to me why any hotel retains shower curtains rather than screens, ok the cost, but perhaps that's the reason for the huge damp patch and damaged ceiling above the stairs to the lower floor, so maybe a false economy. The TV reception was unpredictable and on one day the main channels weren't available at all.

This hotel certainly needs more investment and another upgrade to bring it up to current standards.

Having said that, the hotel does have some charm, is very convenient for the M25 and many of the staff are helpful and pleasant. It was great to see that Moncho soldiers on!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_B33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review and as a past user of the Bridge House I am disappointed that you did like the massive improvements that were made by the owners of the hotels after decades of no investment by the previous owner.

Every area of the hotel has been improved and the area with the leak in the ceiling is on a secondary staircase with a flat roof above, not a bedroom or bathroom.

Shower screens were not fitted as the majority of our guests who were asked for their opinion said they preferred curtains to screens, but we did fit curved shower rails to allow more space.

Moncho will probably be there for ever and I am delighted that apart from not liking our improvements you enjoyed your stay.

I do hope we will see you again.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SN DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were looking for a hotel near the children’s trust at tadworth we hoped we had found the ideal place at a good price as we will be visiting regularly for some months,
We had been in long delays on the road and didn’t look our best. When I got out of the car it started to slide down hill on the gravel when I told the receptionist she said you need to put old cars in first gear. Its 14 wks old.
My maestro card didn’t work and I was told (we never have trouble you need to see your bank) my other cards worked fine we where then told your in room 18 the second woman said no room 20 Mrs.? Didn’t like room 20 we asked why she said she didn’t like where the bed is.
The mattress was harder than the floor
The room was clean but tired the bedroom door didn’t shut the balcony was dirty the view was non existent even though they make a item of it
The TV picture kept breaking up.
The car park is unlit at night you have to use a torch.
We went to Morrison’s for breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDMAN1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review which I have discussed at length with Linda Darbon the General Manager at the hotel who you spoke to about the car rolling back and was there when you checked in.

What Linda actually said was that she found with her car, which she admitted was not brand new, she has to leave her car in gear as well as apply the hand brake, but it seems strange to blame us for offering helpful advice.

Linda intervened to upgrade your room as the room that she moved you to has proved to be a more popular bedroom and was larger. I am also pleased that you found it clean. The car park lights are turned off overnight due to local resident complaints about light pollution.

Sorry we did not live up to your expectations, but I do hope you will use the Bridge House again in the future.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reigate hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having recently been here to celebrate an important occasion with a dinner dance, I am disappointed with the room I had booked I stay in. For £50 I was put the furthest away (in rm 24) it smelt quite musty and I got the feeling it was used on very rare occasions, the toilet was disgusting because if it was cleaned I would like to know why there was a 'log' already in there. To be honest I was not impressed for the money I had paid. However on a positive note the food at the dinner dance was lovely and breakfast was ok, just would have been nice to see what was included in the full English instead of it being a surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that a drainage problem [resolved the following day] caused this unfortunate situation and I hope you will accept our apologies.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My partner and I booked here as we were attending a wedding locally. He is originally from the area, and remembered the hotel in it's 'glory days' in the 60s and 70s! We weren't expecting anything particularly special, having read some of the reviews, but really needed somewhere local to sleep for the night.

I'm pleased to say that this lovely hotel exceeded all our expectations! From the warm welcome at reception, to our room (massive!), the decor (exactly as it should be for a hotel of its age) and the general ambience, we really couldn't have asked for anything better.

Our room, as well as being amazingly spacious, was clean and the bed extremely comfortable. We had a balcony which was lovely, especially first thing in the morning with the sun shining in. The bathroom as also very clean and a good size, nice shower with decent temperature and easy to operate.

We had drinks in the bar when we returned in the evening - again a lovely place with a lot of warmth and character. There was a dinner and dance going on in the dining room so we enjoyed hearing the band too! It also made the bar a very lively area! Although we went to bed before the band finished (goodness knows what time they played to - we went to our room at 1am!) we had a peaceful night's sleep with no disturbance.

Breakfast was a very good experience - full English cooked to order, with plenty of coffee and toast too.

I can't praise this hotel enough - would definitely stay there again if we go to another family 'do' in the Redhill/Reigate area.

Breakfast

Room Tip: We had room 4 - not the best view (the car park!) but huge and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and i stayed for one night on September-5-2013 on a B&B plus breakfast basis. The twin room was fine and clean with good coffee/ tea facilities. We decided to spoil ourselves and have dinner in the restaurant rather than drive to redhill. Big mistake, we both ordered sirloin steaks, when they arrived the plates looked very appetising until we bit into the steaks and immediately spat than out, the meat was rank, we complained to the manager who when questioned on why this had occurred told us that the new delivery of meat had been mixed up with old stock. Never in our 70 odd years in umteen hotels throughout the world heard this before, We leave you to judge whether you'd like to stay here, for us the answer is obvious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bungi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHMS, CEO of LHMS at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review which we did query with Trip Advisor as we would certainly have remembered someone complaining about such a matter and none of the team can recall such ancident. However as this review is still on the site and at first sight is less than complimentary it needs a response.

What the team do recall is a guest saying that their steak looked great, but tasted "unusual" and it appeared that the pan used to make a sauce reduction in had been used for cooking the steak and some of this flavour had transferred. The steak was immediately replaced with an apology and no charge

We have meat deliveries 3 times a week and there is no question of stock issues and our supplier is very highly rated.

I am also confused as you rate the hotel very highly in virtually every area yet we are shown with one star....how strange.

Thank you for posting a review but to clarify, if it was you that had the steak, it had a sauce flavour from another dish other than that it was perfect as you state.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked first visit to the hotel taking advantage of the special offers which included dinner and breakfast. Was unsure what to expect as there was a group of us attending a local wedding. Glad to say we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent choice of goumet dinner and extenstive choice for breakfast. Rooms on first floor clean, spacious, with balcony space. Tea facilities, additional towels, hair dryer and relieved also an iron and iron board in the room. There were three generations of our famly with varing needs but all agreed the hotel was excellent value for money already planning to visit again for one of their theme nights. Customer services very good, Linda extremely helpful as she helped arranged an early dinner so we could attend the wedding church practice!!.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor come with balcony - great when weather is good and easy access to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reigate
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reigate Manor Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Cranleigh Hotel
The Cranleigh Hotel
#2 of 3 in Reigate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
4.7 mi away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: Reigate Hill, Reigate RH2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Reigate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms and public areas now fully refurbished! All air conditioned, complementary broadband, in room movies, large beds with cozy duvets. New menu in restaurant. All looking stylish and offering maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Reigate
Bridge House Hotel Reigate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing