We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to my standards”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had been a guest before and yet I decided to give it another try.
However once again I found the building in desperate need of renewal. A pungent smell of mold prevails in the narrow hallways and most of the rooms.

I tried several rooms and so did another couple of colleagues of mine finding more and different issues in each of them.

The showers barely work. Wireless does not reach the room and is only available in the lobby area. The hair dryer stopped working in one and was broken in another room. Very often a light would blow up and won't be replaced for some time. The breakfast is basic and the continental options are packaged medium quality products and never consistent.

I spent over 3 weeks and only were able to deal with such an horrible setup because of the kindness and professionalism of its personnel [just to mention a few names of those wonderful people: Linda the manager, Coleen at reception and Moncho during breakfast and the housekeeping girls].

This team of people who are employed try to make the best of a poorly managed property and saved my stay.

Try to avoid if you can. With some advance notice you can find other and better options in Reigate area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This Hotel has a very creditable past but sadly it has been allowed to become tired, decayed and almost third rate.

The advertised spectacular views of the Holmesdale Valley are non existent as tree and bush growth has not been controlled and there are no views from any part of the establishment. The rooms are gloomy due to the close proximity of the shrubbery.

Food is good and of value. Service is good and staff friendly. Functions and theme nights are of good value.

Any one having difficulty with stairs will have some problems.

Exterior is shabby, carpets are tired and in places dirty. Exterior is uninviting and shows distinct signs of neglect over a long period.

OK for a stopover or visit on a theme night but hardly meets the bill for a longer stay. Ideally situated fro Gatwick if you wish to get some sleep before or after a flight but regretfully not for much more.

Rooms are OK and well appointed but need spicing up. There are signs that a failed half hearted attempt at a budget refurb has occurred.

Linen etc and towels were spotless and bathroom facilities totally acceptable.

Hopefully refurbishment will occur and past glories can be established again.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the first floor at the far end. This avoids both noise and some stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Dennis333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed there four nights on a recent trip to see my cousins in this part of England. We originally made our reservations by calling ahead, but when we got there, they didn't have our reservations. Luckily, they had rooms for us. We had our elderly mother with us (age 86) and the hotel is not set up for handicapped guests. There are steps EVERYWHERE. Our first night we stayed on the "lobby" level, and there were three sets of steps to get down to our room. The other three nights we stayed on the "ground floor" level and there were still one set of steps to go down. And we had to walk around outside to get up to the lobby level for breakfast. The staff was friendly and seemed to be overworked. All in all, the hotel reminded me of a 1960's style motel. The hotel itself is very, very tired looking and in need of freshening and repairs. However, our room and bathroom were very clean. The shower/tub is hard to climb into as it is elevated (perhaps pipes running underneath). My mother could not do it. She had to sponge bath all four nights we stayed there. Parking was terrible. Everything on a slope and hard to turn around. And it's on a very busy road, so unless you are turning left, you have to go all the way to the end of the parking lot to be able to see to turn right. On the bottom floor we opened the door to go out on the balcony and let some fresh air into our room, and we had a very hard time getting the door locked again.

Room Tip: Bottom floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonpink1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked this hotel on a deal for 2 rooms, then read the reviews and thought how bad can it really be, well what can I say broken glass in the bathroom, building basically looks like it is falling down, they had a refit and to be honest they looked okay and that is where it ends, went out onto the balcony and everything was in such bad repair. I know people say when you read reviews that you have to read between the lines but trust me you do not want to go there, I have written many reviews about hotels and always been honest as we are level headed people and always found many positives but could not find any (feel so sorry for the staff that they have to put up with this)
I used to live in this area many years ago and this hotel had a fantastic reputation and in the past attended many weddings etc there but my advice is don't go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debbiewestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a week before our stay...as we had had no email confirmation we phoned the hotel the day before our visit only to be told that they had no details of our booking and that we must have spoken to a junior member of staff(!) They had no rooms free other than the executive suite which they offered us at a £30 discount. On arriving at the hotel we were told by a friendly receptionist that we had a lovely room and as we had had a 7 hour journey we would enjoy relaxing on our balcony. We were keen to get to our room as it sounded wonderful......what a disappointment awaited us!! The room was a good size and the bathroom was spacious but..... the fan extractor was half hanging off the wall in the bathroom, the door had a hole in it looking like someone had tried to hack their way out of the room, the plugs were rusty and didn't fit the basins, the sliding balcony door did not slide...we had to heave it open only to find that the balcony was covered in bird mess, the bush growing in the pot was scruffy and then there were the railings....all along the outside of the hotel were old, very rusty railings with what little paint there was left, coming off in huge flakes. The promised view was completely obscured by overgrown trees and vegetation and overlooked the noisy hill. The bedside lights did not work, however the bed was comfortable! The staff were friendly and were trying to make the best of it but the food was awful and the homemade sticky toffee pudding was like eating a very hard piece of burnt toast. Our view out of the restaurant window was not as promised....just completely overgrown stinging nettles. Work needs to be done! The hotel needs some investment to give it a chance.

Room Tip: Road is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is VERY tired and in need of some desperate refurbishment. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Wouldn't pay full price for room but with a Groupon it wasn't bad value for money. The most important thing was the room and bathroom was clean.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks, the staff was very kind and generous. The rooms were good. The lobby leading to the rooms was stinking but a note from the manager in the room acknowledges that and informs that the hotel is working towards it.
One of things is that the breakfast menu is fixed. If we can have some variety there, it'll be good. Though the only visitors affected by it are the relatively long term visitors like me.
Some of the basic things the hotel should have provided by itself like Toiletries, hair brush etc.
The tea kettle in the room had all kinds of deposits in it but wasn't replaced after my requests. I understand that the staff might be busy but this is something the hotel should be careful about as it concerns the health and hygiene of the visitors.
The hotel is a bit away from the town and when it comes to catching a train or something, one has to take a half an hour margin before leaving for the same. The scenery around the hotel was beautiful.
Overall, the stay was comfy and good. I would recommend this hotel in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reigate
0.5 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Redhill Town Centre
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cranleigh Hotel
The Cranleigh Hotel
#2 of 3 in Reigate
74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hartsfield Manor, Betchworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: Reigate Hill, Reigate RH2 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Reigate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Price Range: £49 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms and public areas now fully refurbished! All air conditioned, complementary broadband, in room movies, large beds with cozy duvets. New menu in restaurant. All looking stylish and offering maximum comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Reigate
Bridge House Hotel Reigate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing