We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A pleasant stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed in Spa suite 4th floor. Lovely room, comfortable bed with choice of type of pillows i.e soft/hard. There is 1 easy chair in the room, it would be better to replace it with a small settee or add another easy chair, there is room to accommodate that type of furniture. I find the "see through" frosted glass doors and walls a little weird - not much privacy when you want to use the loo! Staff very professional and polite through out the hotel.
If you are not an exclusive member of the Holiday Inn then you have to pay an extortionate fee to use their wifi. I have paid for wifi in other hotels which has ranged £5-7 for 24 hrs, Holiday Inn prices is £5 for 4 hours, the prices increase if you wish to use there wifi for a longer period. It proves that other organisations can charge lower prices for their wifi, i.e coffee shops/ Bentalls /waitrose and the Banks give free wifi. Holiday Inn chooses not to follow the other retails examples.

Room Tip: 404 Spa suite, watch out for the "see through" frosted glass door and window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service levels we aim for.
I can inform you that from the middle of July 2014 WIFI will be free of charge for all IHG Rewards members while at present this is only for our IHG Rewards Elite members. I would like to suggest when staying next at our hotel please sign up directly for the (complimentary) membership.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future to the hotel again,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    209
    108
    29
    19
See reviews for
139
108
36
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here a few times with work, it's always been a pleasant stay. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and the staff are always friendly.

The hotel has lesuire facilities which are free to use, although on these small side it will certainly pass an hour to two with the pool and gym.

The breakfast is fantastic and has everything you need to start off the day. Having stayed there a few times the staff even get my morning drink ready as I walk through the door, which is a nice touch.

There are only two negatives for this hotel. The pillows and Wifi.

The pillows are the worst pillows I have ever had and it's not a one off, it's every time I stay. I just don't know what it is. They give you two option in your room, hard or soft. The hard is too hard and the soft too soft. I've tried one of each and still no good. I've even resorted to taking my own.

The Wifi. Well you have to pay for it. When i stay there it's for work so the fact that I have to pay for the wifi is a joke, considering how much the rooms are in the first place. I have heard rumours that this is about to change in 2014 and fingers crossed it will as it's a great hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kristian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
I can inform you that from the middle of 2014 WIFI will be free of charge for all IHG rewards members while at present this is only for our IHG Rewards Elite members. Also at the end of March 2014 we will be introducing new linen specs and pillows in all our bedrooms.

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have stayed at the hotel on two separate occasions in December 2013, both times for a week.
The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Sutton with easy access to/from the train station and motorway network. The staff were extremely friendly, professional and efficient helping me to sort out my club rewards card, of which there were a number of issues, as well as proving to be very helpful in helping me find my way around the area. The bar area was clean and the staff polite and eager to help. Although I didn't dine in the restaurant, I did use room service. Although the room service menu is a bit limited, you can order food from the restaurant menu. The food arrived in a timely fashion and was hot and tasty with the added bonus of being served with a smile. I opted for the Executive double room, which was very well equipped with desk and comfortable chair for working, a large flat screen TV with lots of channels for in room entertainment, and large bed that afforded an excellent nights sleep. The room was also very quiet with good views across the town. As I'm over 6ft tall, I couldn't really fit in the bath, but the overhead shower more than made up for the size of the bath, being very powerful with multiple water dispense settings. I was staying at the hotel on business, and as I will be in the area on business for at least the next six months, I doubt if I'll be staying anywhere else, as I'm more than happy with what the hotel has to offer, and I haven't even tried the gym, spa or pool yet. However, after what I've been eating and drinking over the Christmas holiday period, you can bet your bottom dollar that I'll be a frequent visitor in the gym and pool....!!!! No harpoons please....
All joking aside, I think you would struggle to find a better hotel with the same facilities in or around the Sutton area. It may not be the cheapest, but you pay for quality, and that's what this hotel has in spades....

Room Tip: Opt for the Executive rooms, they're a bit pricier but very quiet with excellent in room facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManUMan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
I am looking forward meeting you personally during the next General Managers cocktail evening somewhere in january 2014.

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Welcoming check inn, very professional staff,great dinning experience despite the fact it was really busy with Christmas parties food quality excellent diner and breakfast,not the most modern hotel but very well looked after by a great team
Thank you for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

As a regular reviewer who once stayed here, I was just about to book a room here again but luckily found out that they still charge for w-fi. I will no longer stay at hotels which charge for internet, Come on Holiday Inn...it is a selling point to offer free wi-fi. Charging for it is miserly and gives a very bad impression to the extent that I'm staying elsewhere. It's no good saying that it will be free from sometime in 2014. You've missed your chance!

Room Tip: Don't you have to pay if you want wifi! Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for leaving your thouhghts about WIFI charges with us although I am surprised how you can rate the hotel (or any hotel in this case) on value, cleanliness and staff services when you did not stay as the only time you stayed at the hotel was in July 2013 whereby you scored the hotel 4 out of 5 for value and on this occasion changed the scoring. WIFI charges will be free of charge from mid 2014 for all our IHG Rewards members so I can only suggest that next time you stay in any of our hotels you sign up for our IHG Rewards straight away you you enjoy a range of benifits accordingly.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel somewhere in 2014.
Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for business travel. Hotel was clean and modern. Breakfast was good but was the same everyday. Hotel is also walking distance to Sutton train station which is only 30 minutes to Victoria Station. Also close to High Street which has a few food dining options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KABC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for the night after the Christmas Winter wonderland party. After a mix up with the room booking we were very happy with complimentary bottle of wine and the room. It was very clean, comfortable and had a powerful shower. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and very tasty. All the staff were very helpful and polite. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharcon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It is always a pleasure for us to receive positive feedback for which we would like to thank you. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.
Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
1.4 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge London Wimbledon Morden
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Sutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Sutton

Property: Holiday Inn London Sutton
Address: Gibson Road, Sutton SM1 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Sutton 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London-Sutton, a modern, full service hotel situated in the heart of Sutton town centre. Perfectly located for many famous Surrey & South London attractions and events Chessington World of Adventure, Wimbledon All England Tennis Club and Epsom Racecourse to name a few. The Holiday Inn, Sutton is easily accessible from Croydon to the east, Kingston to the west, Wimbledon to the north and from the M25 to the south. The hotel has 119 air conditioned bedrooms, including 4 suites, 2 DDA rooms as well 20 Executive rooms all which have en suite facilities, including high speed internet access (HSIA). Kids stay and eat free*. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offering tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Squiggles Lounge also offers wireless internet connections. The Holiday Inn Meetings Network Rooms and Orchard Suite are self contained on the first floor. A well known venue which comfortably seats 160 for a celebratory meal, or 200 for a corporate meeting. Spirit Health Club, located within the hotel, is open to members and residents. The gymnasium, indoor heated pool, spa, sauna & steam rooms are available to residents on a complimentary basis. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London Sutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Sutton Hotel Sutton
Sutton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Sutton Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing