We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariana's Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Sutton B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in Mariana's guest house for a month's posting at the Royal Marsden Hospital in Sutton. It was an excellent stay and it would be hard to ask for more.

SERVICE: Mariana, Lina (the housekeeper), and Anna went out of their way to make my stay pleasant, and made me feel at home with their very personal service.

ROOM: Room was fully furnished with bed, table, reading lamp, microwave and cutlery, sink, fridge, and attached toilet. Free internet access is available. It was clean, spacious, and cosily decorated in a homely English style. Comfortable for rest and generally conducive for work.

BREAKFAST: I looked forward to breakfast served every morning in the dining room where I had many pleasant conversations with other guests from around the world. (Warning: they will offer you eggs every morning - your coronary arteries will not be very happy so eat in moderation)

ENVIRONMENT: Mariana's is located in a pleasant and safe upper middle class neighbourhood. Sutton station is a 10 min walk away and the high street a further 2 min out. This is a reasonably large suburban centre so you should be able to get all you need. There are half-hourly trains to London Victoria (45min), half-hourly trains to Blackfriars (1h), and slower trains to Victoria. If you go regularly to London Victoria, a zone 1-5 travelcard will be worth it.

I do strongly recommend Mariana's B&B. It is slightly more pricey than its competitors in the area but well worth it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank nigel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
11
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Excellent standard of accommodation, very good facilities in the room and a very good range of choices provided for the continental breakfast.
I found everyone at Mariana's to be very friendly and helpful and for there to be a very pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. For me, a home away from home.
My initial inquiry to stay was only on the basis of the guest house location but, since then, I have put this chance find in the "serendipity" category!
Recommended - with a capital "R"!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house look out to a nice garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on Christmas Day as it was just round the corner from friends in Belmont Sutton . The place was very homely and wellcoming . The room was co forty and big with a lovely bathroom. A delicious breakfast was included in the price and the host were lovely

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Lovelyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Among many different hotels and B&B that I stayed, this is the best. Mariana is very wonderful and positive person. I stayed more than 2 weeks and I felt like home. The room was clean. Since she provides the rooms to selected people, I also met good people and made friends. The breakfast was wonderful and she prepared very well. The location is close to the Sutton station. Moreover, she helped me to get an apartment to stay in Sutton. She cares for people. I would strongly recommend anyone to stay in this place. I am thinking of putting my guests there when required.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anguraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Marianna is a wonderful lady but the stay was very disappointing. The room downstairs opposite the dining room was large and clean apart from the light fitting which was hung in cobwebs. The shower was dangerous due to change in the water pressure from warm to scalding hot. Towels which were used in the morning were folded and placed back on the rail still wet from use when re used. Very disappointing, would have been acceptable if left where placed to dry. Will not stay again because of un comfortable mattress and situation with towels

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Marianas house is a very large and imposing house with some car parking spaces on the drive. The house is beautifully presented with high quality fixtures and fittings. Bed linen is of a high standard as is the furniture.

Marianas welcome is among the best and the attention to detail carries through to breakfast which is delicious.

A lovely stay. Many Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gig harbor wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we stayed 2 nights and it was the best part of our vacation. Mariana was a very gracious host, and truly a wonderful soul. She made it feel like home. what a wonderful experience. don't pass this up. The meals were very good, and served on fine table settings. Lena is there to attend to your needs, and keeps the room fresh, and clean. We look forward to our next visit, and stay a little longer. everything is close by, shopping, food, pubs, train, bus, you could not ask for a better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treetopflyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
0.4 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
1.6 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariana's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariana's Guest House

Property: Mariana's Guest House
Address: 52 Worcester Road, Sutton SM2 6QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Sutton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mariana's Guest House Sutton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing