We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a short stay, very helpful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmontview House Hotel

Belmontview House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmontview House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Sutton B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay, very helpful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed at the Belmontview recently and although difficult to find (a sign does need sorting) they were most welcoming when I got there with a large room with en suite (lovely bath).

Although this was only to be somewhere to sleep they did seem to care that all was well when I was there. You get a comfy bed, large flat screen tv, large bathroom, tv & coffee etc. Free wi-fi which is always good. You can help yourself to breakfast in the morning if you wish.

There is a garden at the rear you can use if you smoke or just want a sit outside.

Only real downside is there is only two paring spaces on a first com first served basis, although you can park on he side street after 6.

You get what you pay for, it's not the Ritz, but they will make you feel welcome and if it's just for a couple of days then I would happily go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simplemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on 29th june 2013. Its a old house converted in to a bnb. It took us a while to find the hptel as there is no sign out side. I think this should be sorted as we have ad to patk in the Belmont pub and walk around looking for the hotel. The pub is very nice I live in Sutton and have been there a few times. The lady who welcomed us was very pleasant and nice took us to our room and explained breakfast was self service. I cant comment on breakfast as we woke up to late but noticed different cerial and jams for toast. Our room it self was very big and spacious and clean we had an en suite and that was a good size to cant complain about the room and bed was very comfortable. Only fault and not really a fault but we had a shower with the bath but no were to pit the shower on the wall so had to hold it as I say not really a problem. Overall id stay here again close to sutton for night out and very close to Belmont station. No frills but wouldn't let u down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle01uk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Needed a cheap place to stay in Sutton for a night and found the Belmontview House Hotel. It was the cheapest place available on short notice and had reasonably good reviews so booked in.

It is a B&B converted from a house with a pretty steep flight of stairs on the way up (consider this if you have heavy luggage!). The one staff member there was helpful & accommodating. Room was very compact and bathroom was even smaller (tiny!!), but facilities were decent enough. Walls were paper-thin though so light sleepers should take earplugs as I was awoken in the early hours by the creaking of the floorboards outside when another guest would pass my door on the way downstairs. Could also hear telephone calls from other rooms though to be fair the gentleman on the mobile was speaking quite loudly!

Breakfast is self-service & no-frills but has the kind of things you would expect from a basic b&b. Decent carvery pub across the road from the b&b too.

Overall, if you only need a bed for the night on a tight budget then this would definitely be a decent pick. Those looking for higher standards or an extended stay with hotel facilities should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking the garden which was quiet as this is on a main road, so not sure what noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyJones52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Large room very comfortable bed. New en suite - though faulty bath as it didn't fill more than about 10 inches - had a similar problem in some new Premier Inn baths (poor workmanship, I reckon - the plug surround must leak above a certain pressure. The extremely helpful landlord will be addressing this, he says. Breakfast is cereals, toast and fruit as he has no licence to cook. Perfectly fine for me. Good price at £55 for the night. Shower ok, but will be much improved by becoming a power shower, which I think he has planned, but it did the job. Very comfortable pub almost right next door with a great value carvery every night - and a cinema up the road in Sutton five minutes on the bus. The landlord told me that another trip advisor reviewer arrived extremely late and left very early, complained of various things - not warm enough perhaps (I found it fine) - but didn't actually tell the landlord at the time. He said that had the guest told him, he could easily have adjusted the thermostat. I found the temperature quite fine and the bed and bedding extremely comfortable (better than at home in fact!). So, unless you want luxury or a posh hotel, I'd say this is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for en suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Belmontview House Hotel was very clean and the bed was comfortable, Our en-suite double bedroom was small and the en-suite was tiny but it was very economical and served our purpose of a one night stay to visit family. Breakfast is help yourself to cereal, fruit juice, toast and tea/coffee with ample supplies of all in the kitchen. All in all an ideal place for a quick stopover. There was an excellent carvery being served in The Belmont pub , two doors away,£4.99 for all you can eat...very good value.

Room Tip: Number 5 had a constant humming noise!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank suzyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
1.1 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmontview House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmontview House Hotel

Property: Belmontview House Hotel
Address: 245 Brighton Road, Sutton SM2 5ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Sutton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmontview House rooms have high celling, carpet floors and are centrally heated. It is an ideal location for visitors to London, Surrey and the south east of England. We have a range of room sizes such as single, double and family rooms, and most of the rooms are en-suite. Your stay at Belmontview House in Surrey will be cosy, comfy and affordable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belmontview House Hotel Sutton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing