We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly”

Thatched House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thatched House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed at Thatched House Hotel during the week, the staff are very friendly, the room was a little dated, but adequate, I would definately go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

The hotel is situated in a traditional old building with a thatched roof (as the name suggests) and plenty of character, however this means that the rooms are a little cramped and ensuite facilities have been squeezed in as a modern addition. The place has a relaxed family feel to it and the staff are laid back and friendly. Prices are reasonable given its proximity to London; it isn’t a five star palace but you can spend £100+ up the road at Holiday Inn Sutton if you’re looking for higher standards. Shops and Sutton station are a 20 minute walk with frequent train services to Central London.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PneumaticKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Reception. Staff were friendly and whilst they weren't tested, you felt they would have been up to tasks if asked. A bit casual in dress and approach. Good display of tourist brochures, etc..

Room - very comfortable double bed but I would have benefitted from a slightly larger one (I'm big!). A big plus was clean spare pillows and pillow slips in a plastic zipped holder to keep them clean (although one had to put the slips on oneself). Bathroom a bit poor. Small as you felt it had been built into what was originally a largish bedroom. Difficult to use basin as it was small and there was a glass shelf only about 10 inches above it. The shower holder was loose so the handset had to be held above you to shower under it. A more professional printed guide to the amenities and services would be good.

Bar. Small but adequate as there was only one other guest. However, it also appered to be the staff rest room and they dictated what was on the TV. They also had the comfortable chairs with best views and the remote. We weren't asked if we would prefer to watch another channel. Also, we weren't offered to add the cost of the drinks to the hotel bill.

Breakfast. Very good full English. Coffee could have been hotter because it was left standing on the percolator - if you caught it just after it had filled I suspect it would have been fine. Fruit with, or as an alternative to, cereal would have been nice.

Overall, very good for the price but would benefit from the above faults being rectified and a more professional and less casual approach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boristhebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

This is a decent hotel. It can be a bit basic, but it is comfortable with friendly staff. Do be warned that they don't open the bar or restaurant at the weekend. However, the village of Cheam is just up the road with restaurants and a small Sainsbury's.
The rooms have recently been refurbished with flat-screen TVs and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maisie_the_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

If proximity to where you will be working is a priority then avoid this place and drive a few more extra miles.
Its nice to see this sites policy on fake reviews. I wish the site I used to check this place out did the same. The reviews I found on other sites were in the most part plain wrong. This Place charges £95 for a single room and the owners need to sort a few things out if they want to keep this price. The En-suite bathroom was one of the smallest I have ever seen. Congratulations on cramming a shower, a sink and a toilet into that space. You advertise “free Broadband “ Where? I could not find any details on setup. When I check in to a hotel I like the information I ask for to be available in a friendly manor. Jeans and a t shirt do not, in my mind constitute a staff uniform. On the subject of your “freshly prepared Home cooked meals” deep fried frozen Chicken Nuggets with a bowl of tomato sauce is not a starter at all. When a steak is ordered its customary to ask how the guest would like it cooked. Not that this would have made much difference in this case. Frozen chips and mixed Frozen veg is not acceptable. When a guest asks during the meal order for “no chips please just a salad” do not pile chips on the plate and forget the salad. It was very basic pub grub at best. I have stayed in three and four star hotels for this price and to be honest, I’m not sure how this Hotel has been awarded 2 stars. Once again the star rating on the UK hotels eludes me. Oh, and please thank your staff members for revving their car over and over again every half hour or so in the car park. It took my mind off how dreadful the room was.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BusinessManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

Having stayed in this place it is not too bad... I have had the plesure of the staff and found them to be very friendly, the rooms are exceptable. What is not exceptable is the fact that 5 people run this hotel (i have just met 3 who work approx (total: 270 a week!) and whilst they try their very best they cannot keep up the required experience. I do hope that the flat tv and refurbishment work will be soon be met by a hotel level of staff..............!
PS: Jobs in Newport Pagnell for the staff ask on [-]

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moxgoeswhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

I stayed at this hotel in mid-September.

I chose this hotel through recommendation from other work colleagues who often stay here for a period of 4-5 days once in 2 weeks.

In my view this hotel offers a better deal than many in the neighbourhood. If you are looking for a quiet surrounding then this is the place to pick. It was peaceful, and very clean.

The staff was friendly and prompt at assisting with organizing a taxi or recommend local restaurants.

I enjoyed the pub as I could watch Arsenal kick ass without people shouting...heheh

I would give them a thumbs up ....
I liked the following;
1. Free Internet
2. Friendly staff
3. Business Amenities 24/7
4. Great PUB

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank siddhimgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
1.9 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge London Wimbledon Morden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatched House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched House Hotel

Address: 135 Cheam Road, Sutton SM1 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
Hotel Class:2 star — Thatched House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Thatched House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched House Hotel Sutton, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing