We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All Round Curry House in South London”
Review of Haweli of Belmont

Haweli of Belmont
Reserve with OpenTable
Haweli of Belmont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 148 Restaurants in Sutton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$45
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ‘Haweli’ derived from Hindi word ‘Haveli’ which describes an enclosed mansion built with pride to keep family members together. The word therefore immediately gives a sense of security, trust and closeness. The Haweli of Belmont’s philosophy lies on this very traditional value of warmth and hospitality, which is embodied in the South Asian way of life.‘Haweli of Belmont’ is a family run business with a great passion to deliver the very best South Asian dining experience to our guests. In this venture we have deeply explored the rich and diverse dishes of our continent to bring the very best for you. Our chefs and consultant culinary experts have taken a lot of care and creativity in selecting and preparing a menu that offers the true touches of South Asia in its colour, taste and cooking style with a matching wine list that goes very well with the spices used in our dishes. We always select the finest ingredients for our dishes and we remain at your service with a dedicated team of staff and sincere management. Our dedication to provide our guests the very best Indian dining experience continues with our attentive, seamless service and a creative selection of fresh and exotic dishes from our exciting menu. Haweli of Belmont is a highly renowned Indian restaurant in Sutton, with its guest list featuring the occasional politician, sports star and many TV celebrities. Haweli of Belmont has been run by the Chowdhury family for over 20 years and every aspect of the restaurant is designed to offer you the very best Indian food available. The contemporary design and welcoming service help you unwind and puts you in the perfect mood to enjoy the acclaimed Haweli of Belmont dining experience. Book a table today and come and see for yourself why Haweli of Belmont comes so highly recommended. Takeaway or free delivery for Curry in Belmont, Sutton, Cheam, Banstead, Epsom, Tadworth, Carshalton, Wallington,. Have high quality restaurant food delivered to your home - authentic, traditional and contemporary Indian cuisine.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best All Round Curry House in South London”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

If its great curry, service, atmosphere and interior your looking for then this is the place. I have been visiting the Haweli for 7 years and my partner for over 12 years and we love it. Little things make the place like, the heated hand towels and post dinner drink on the house when you order your bill. Great food which you can personalise, I like the Tandoori Chicken Balti Masala but ask for it Madras hot which is not on the Menu. Misu the head waiter is the person to ask for, he's always helpful and will accommodate all your needs. Back in the day (Circa 2004 isn) Peter Andre & Jordan were regulars. Whether this is a plus or a minus who knows but we love it - the place that is :-).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haweli599, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Paul C
Thank you for your really touching review! We're thrilled you had a great time at our Haweli of Belmont. Come back anytime !

Yours Faithfully
Misbah Chowdhury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    21
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Yet again, another take away with missing items”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

The hawelli used to be an excellent curry house.

However, over the last year I have ordered approx 6-8 take aways and EVERY single time items are wrong and/or missing.

The food is also arriving late - I'm having tO phone to chase it up and the answer is always 'the driver is just round the corner'

Won't be using again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foody4Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haweli599, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Food4Ldn
We have read your comments with interest and are sorry your experience at Haweli of Belmont was not to the standard you expected. We constantly strive to improve our services but occasionally errors do occur.

I would be grateful if you could email me the details of the order so I can look into this for you and find out why you order was late?

My email address is info@haweliofbelmont.com

I do apologise for the experience you've had and for the inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Haweli of belmont”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Had a takeaway a few times, lovely food. only picked up the food there, but the service was Excellent, and as a compliment they even gave me a LARGE bottle of beer on the house, and held the door open for me,

with a smile, was very pleased, will be dining in there soon

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank dannycook86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haweli599, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Dannycook86
Thank you so much for reviewing our restaurant ! We're so happy you had a great takeaway experience with us. As you said we do everything with passion, no compromise allowed :-) Hope to see soon at Haweli of Belmont!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip Off!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Ordered a take away from here It arrived cold and with lots of food i did not order,unfortunately my partner paid without checking£32 I rang them and they said they would ring back, they never did.I was out £12 .expensive restaurant without paying for food you never ordered.Do yourself a favour don't go there,so many good value Indian restaurants out there.Very disappointed with Hawali.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceMarchent, Owner at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Hi
We have already dealt with this respectful customer and he had been paid back with my personal apology to him on 12/11/2012. There was a misunderstanding during the order taking when 4 poppadom has been misunderstood as 4 Paratha and he was in fact delivered 4 Parathas which are 2.75 pound each.

The customer did contact the restaurant to complain about it but the calls were made during lunch hour when our less experienced front staff on occasions answer the telephone. Again unfortunate in this case, it took about ten days by the time I as a Owner got the message. Once I got the message, I immediately contacted him and resolved this with payment and my sincere apology. Haweli is household name within the Surrey area for past 20 years.

It is sad that he had portrayed our restaurant as a 'Rip Off' business which goes against our ethics and it is damageable.
I would request to add my response to his review or to withdraw it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Called in with a friend and had a most enjoyable Indian meal, with superb Naan bread and delicious curries and bhajies. The food was nice and hot (as well as spicy) with generous portions and the service was good - helpful without being intrusive. I really enjoyed my visit and hope to go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Colin_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haweli599, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Colin-Taylor
Thank you for your really touching review! We're thrilled you had a great time at our restaurant Haweli of Belmont. Come back anytime !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haweli of Belmont also viewed

Sutton, Greater London
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to Haweli of Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing