We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savannah Bed & Breakfast(Virginia Water)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White House(Old Windsor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
86
88
79
67
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
88
79
67
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat windsor parklovely publovely mealsea bassfull englishcomfy bedgood nights sleepwentworthascotconditionermikey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for works Xmas party as this was at Wentworth. Decent enough, rooms were clean, good shower, comfy bed.

Bar is well overpriced though. Didn't sample the food here as didn't have breakfast, but sure that it's decent.

I've certainly stayed in worse hotels!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 584ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a hotel with potential but is in need of complete refurbishment and, may I say, a need for management to stand back and look at the basics The first impression of any traveller is the hotel reception. In this case its a mess with paperwork all over the place, stuffing sticking out of the receptionist's chair. Pressing the call button produced no result until one of the passing staff attended to us. It did not bode well passing tthe toilet with an 'out of action notice stuck to the door' and yet more chairs with stuffing sticking out. The room was a good size with a double bed however, the heater did not work and there was mould round the bath.
The evening meal was well prepared and breakfast was good, the staff were attentive given the demands on their time.
All in all we would not stay at the Wheatsheaf again unless it is brought up to standard.
I trust management find the comments helpful

Room Tip: Cannot recommend this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've stayed here a few times as it's convenient for business and well priced. It does lots of things well. Nice comfortable rooms, cosy bar, imaginative menu. Yet it lets itself down badly by having a chronic lack of staff on the bar. As I sit here there are 9 people being served by one stressed out bar person ( actually 7 now) two have just left from exasperation. This isn't isolated as I see it repeatedly when I come down.
In summary, nice place just don't try to pop in for a quick drink!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were wanting to find a hotel that was near Egham as we were visiting friends. My partner has just arrived back from America so we wanted somewhere where we could spend the afternoon, get room service and chill before going out. Sadly this seemed too much work for this hotel.
On arriving 1 hour after our checkin in time our room was not ready and we were given complimentary drinks. This was a nice jesters if the wine we were given was not closer to vinager than wine, though beggars can't be choosers.
When getting to our room it was pretty basic, nothing evening slightly special. The bathroom was one you would expect in a hospital and the rest of the room wasn't that far off.
We tried to order room service, but after struggling to find the number for reception no one was picking up!! I ended up going down Stairs and ordering it but the staff were not helpful and rude with the fact I wanted room service but the food got ordered. On arrival the manager who delivered the food was very annoyed we asked for room service and just plonked the food in the room. The food was not good, half cold and some of the order was not there.
When we left another manager was present. I told him I needed to pay for our food and he seemed very confused as the waitresses had managed to loose our bill. He was extremely apologetic and gave us the food for free, he was the saving grace,
If you want a hotel that very basic and you only just need a bed then it's fine. But anything more glamorous, go somewhere else!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bumpkin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Bumpkin7

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Wheatsheaf Hotel in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whist visiting family, rooms were very clean, and had more facilities that expected, Iron and ironing board, air con/hearing - very impressed. Beds where comfortable had a great nights sleep every night. From our room you couldn't hear any noise from the bar and restaurant area below, we even had a nice little view of the lake! Breakfast was great, plenty of choice from the continental section and the full English was also very good too. We had taken advantage of the 'free' breakfast offer that we has found online which was well worth it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they very kindly let us check-in early as had arrived earlier than expected which was great as we were able to get on with our planned day ahead. The 12pm checkout was ideal, on our last day there was no rushing around to get everything done we could just take it easy and enjoy ourselves! All in all, really great hotel, good value for money, will definitely stay here when we are next in the area.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Erin18xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Erin18xxx


Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Wheatsheaf Hotel who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the Wheatsheaf Hotel.

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews