We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room very small bed very small very basic breakfast in need of freshen up.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Standard Guest House
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Ask for fry slice and he said ok only to wake up to toast not very impress customers are always right I felt ignored. Won't stay here again. Room very small bed very small very basic breakfast in need of freshen up.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

£70 per night including an excellent breakfast,very clean rooms,quiet,plenty of free parking.Shower excellent,bed comfortable.
What more can you ask for in this expensive part of the world.
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

stayed here for two nights with a friend during a roadtrip, had two different rooms one facing the road and one towards the garden, both were really nice and I wouldn`t hesitate staying there again, Breakfast was good and staff was nice. Short walk to train station with good connection to London Waterloo and a really good local pub about 10-15min walk away.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Stavne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here on business with some colleagues and was very pleased. The gentleman running the guest house greeted us warmly, was very polite and even gave us all a lift to a local pub in the evening. My room were clean and well decorated and even if the bathroom was a little small, it too was very clean and looked very nice. The beds were comfortable and the mattress was probably better than the one I have at home. Everything in the room worked, although I did have some difficulty closing one of the windows. Breakfast was excellent and you get a lot more than in other places I have stayed.

Light sleepers may have some problem with the road outside but this can be remidied by asking for a room at the back of the property, which would look out onto the spacious and well kept garden.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here on busiiness and have to say they do the best fry up around.
The rooms are twins or doubles with a sofa, dresser & TV (very small in some rooms). Heating is boiling so generally have to open window to. Beds very comfy. Iron facilities on the landing & hairdryer available from Reception person (no actual reception).
Biggest issue is bathrooms - they are tiny & the shower heads weak if none exsistant spray making it difficult to wash your hair.
Only communal area is the breakfast area/reception area. No bar. Nothing in the local area either, closest bar/resturant taxi ride away.
Train station a good 15 minute walk, but local paper shop here to.
Would return for the breakfast :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rista1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had to attend to a 40 birthday party and needed to find a place to stay, which was near our friends' address. Our experience of The Royal Standard is very positive. We were very kindly received and the room was clean and nice and very big. The bathroom was a bit worn but there were nice and clean. The decor is typical English B & B. Again the morning we were very kindly met with elected among continental breakfast or full cooked english breakfast. Everything was as it should be. It is safe to choose The Royal Standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanishTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference in Weybridge. I didn't know the area at all, but the staff were really friendly and helpful, and got me out of a difficult situation. The rooms are clean and well appointed, and the location is very quiet and beautiful while being in walking distance of the train station and a number of different restaurants. The price was was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dameramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Water
0.5 mi away
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Virginia Water
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Wheatsheaf Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia Water
351 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.3 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Standard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Standard Guest House

Address: Stroude Road, Virginia Water GU25 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Virginia Water
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Water
Price Range: £81 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Standard Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed & breakfast, a home away from home. - Rooms from £65 - Free WIFI - Ample Free Parking - All En-Suite Rooms - Tea & coffee making facilities And more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Standard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Standard Guest House Virginia Water, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing