We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly welcome, would stay there again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis Guest House
Ranked #13 of 26 South Shields B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very friendly welcome, would stay there again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Lovely welcome, rooms are clean and well furnished. Really handy for town centre, seafront and metro.Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moldknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

comfortable, clean and modern rooms. lovely warm and friendly welcoming. lovely breakfast. made our visit to joe mcelderry land even more special. :-) thank you. maxine and dean x x x x

Room Tip: da vinci's italian is the place to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

we needed an overnight stay in south shields and after reading reviews on the atlantis decided to choose to stay here, we were welcomed by friendly owner hani on a freezing cold night, who upgraded our room free of charge, bed was lovely and comfy and room was well heated, breakfast was gorgeous aswell, thoroughly enjoyed our night in south shields and would return to the atlantis again...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonybuck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Myself and my Mum stayed three nights at the Atlantis and had a wonderful stay.

From the outside it looks like your average B&B on Ocean Road, however Hani, the owner, has recently refurbished the interior to match that of a modern hotel.

The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast superb and Hani gave us some great tips on where to eat in South Shields.

A thoroughly pleasant stay that will not disappoint.

Darrin

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner. Facilities were absolutely immaculate,beautifully clean throughout and very tastefully decorated.
Enjoyed a hearty well-cooked english breakfast after a very comfortable nights sleep.
Would be delighted to stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The 'Executive' double bedroom was compact but adequate. The room was spotless and had been recently refurbished. Everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was good and was served promptly.
The Guest House is on a reasonably busy road with lots of small restaurants - mainly Indian. However good double glazing kept the noise out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cover_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis this weekend while visiting South Tyneside for a family party. It's conveniently located with the metro and the sea front both around 5 minutes walk and the legendary Colmans chippy 1min down the road. Rooms are spotlessly clean, simply and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and good value for money at £45/double and £25/single. Breakfast is traditional fare: cereal, fry up, toast with plenty of fruit juice and tea/coffee.
The real winner here is the warm hospitality of owner Hani. We chose to stay in South Shields rather than the more convenient Premier Inn in order to support small business rather than a chain and we certainly found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#3 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Guest House
Forest Guest House
#4 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Guest House

Property: Atlantis Guest House
Address: 55 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars from the Quality in Tourism board we offer an informal and friendly atmosphere at the Atlantis Guest House, centrally located in South Shields with good links to Newcastle and Gateshead. Atlantis operates a non smoking policy throughout, we welcome contractors but do not accept stag & hen coach parties or single sex groups. Rooms are furnished to a high standard offering quality accommodation at an affordable price. All rooms are En-suite in family, double, twin and single options. A full English breakfast is included in the bed and breakfast price. A diverse range of local restaurants, bars and cafes all within easy walking distance. The Atlantis Guest House in South Shields offers a friendly welcome and offers a high standard of accommodation and is located only a short walk from the South Shields sea front, and within easy access of public transport and the motorway to enjoy the many attractions that the region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Atlantis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing