We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis Guest House
Ranked #13 of 26 South Shields B&B and Inns
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

Arrived to a very warm welcome from the owner. Facilities were absolutely immaculate,beautifully clean throughout and very tastefully decorated.
Enjoyed a hearty well-cooked english breakfast after a very comfortable nights sleep.
Would be delighted to stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The 'Executive' double bedroom was compact but adequate. The room was spotless and had been recently refurbished. Everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was good and was served promptly.
The Guest House is on a reasonably busy road with lots of small restaurants - mainly Indian. However good double glazing kept the noise out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cover_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed at the Atlantis this weekend while visiting South Tyneside for a family party. It's conveniently located with the metro and the sea front both around 5 minutes walk and the legendary Colmans chippy 1min down the road. Rooms are spotlessly clean, simply and tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed and good value for money at £45/double and £25/single. Breakfast is traditional fare: cereal, fry up, toast with plenty of fruit juice and tea/coffee.
The real winner here is the warm hospitality of owner Hani. We chose to stay in South Shields rather than the more convenient Premier Inn in order to support small business rather than a chain and we certainly found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

Great Stay!

I'm English but am married to an Italian, and live in Italy. I love visting the Newcastle area and find South Shields the perfect place to stay as the Metro takes you from the airport to South Shields amd accomodation is half the price it is in Newcastle itself. It is by the sea and has really good centre with all the high street shops so you can do your shopping and just keep popping back to the hotel with it. We had stayed in a Hotel at South Shields in November with another couple, it was OK but not worth staying there again so this time I looked at guest houses. I found the Atlantis Guest House on internet and I must say our stay could not have been better. We paid only £45 per night per couple, which we found very reasonable. Both we and our friends had a double room on the second floor with private bathroom. My friends' bathroom was a bit small but you have to remember it is a guest house not a hotel. That said, the whole place could not have been cleaner and the full English breakfast was fantastic.
The owner went out of his way to be helpful and pleasant and I am so pleased that we have found such a nice place to stay for when we return to South Shields again.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, pleasant decor.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood Guest House
Beechwood Guest House
#3 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Guest House
Forest Guest House
#4 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Guest House

Property: Atlantis Guest House
Address: 55 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars from the Quality in Tourism board we offer an informal and friendly atmosphere at the Atlantis Guest House, centrally located in South Shields with good links to Newcastle and Gateshead. Atlantis operates a non smoking policy throughout, we welcome contractors but do not accept stag & hen coach parties or single sex groups. Rooms are furnished to a high standard offering quality accommodation at an affordable price. All rooms are En-suite in family, double, twin and single options. A full English breakfast is included in the bed and breakfast price. A diverse range of local restaurants, bars and cafes all within easy walking distance. The Atlantis Guest House in South Shields offers a friendly welcome and offers a high standard of accommodation and is located only a short walk from the South Shields sea front, and within easy access of public transport and the motorway to enjoy the many attractions that the region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Atlantis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing