We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Exellent value for money and a warm welcome.
Clean and tidy throughout.
Only downside is that you only get 30 Minutes free WiFi per stay.
Good value for money is the adjacent Taybarns restaurant with 'All you can Eat' deals but this is also popular with families with noisy young children.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main busy Road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    131
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
183
110
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Excellent staff in all departments Fiona in reception deserves a special mention. She was so helpful and friendly. Food was varied and very good both for breakfast and dinner. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this Premier Inn & haven’t got a bad word to say about it. The hotel is modern, very clean & the staff are excellent. The rooms are “standard” Premier Inn and absolutely fine for a weekend or a longer stay. I’ve used the Premier Inn chain up and down the country for work and also weekends away with family and also for Rugby League trips and I like the fact you know what you are getting. This hotel is an excellent example of a Premier Inn and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 8 which was at the side of the main A194. As a result the traffic past the window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I stopped in at this Premier Inn as part of our honeymoon trip around England. Very friendly greeting on arrival, the receptionist was lovely and congratulated us on our marriage. She explained the all-you-can-eat place next door (Taybarn's) and gave her recommendations for the dessert counter (always a win in our books). There was a lift which you don't get in many Premier Inns and the room itself was of the usual good PI standard - very clean & no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stopped over for just one night, but receptionist was very warm and efficient, the room was very comfortable and clean. We all had the full breakfast which was very tasty and good value for money as you don't need to eat for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Once again Premier Inn has impressed. Very friendly staff, a clean, comfortable room, a quality breakfast, and a very peaceful night's sleep. I don't look anywhere else when there is a Premier Inn available for a family stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange_escort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were in Newcastle for the Late Shows and the usual premier inn we stayed at wanted in excess of £85 a night, so we looked further afield and ended up at this premier inn, paying £85 for 2 nights. As expected, the room was large, clean, all beds made up (1 adult 3 kids), lovely large bathroom, helpful receptionist, so no problems. We did have an issue with the sink which was sorted out promptly and efficiently.
The area itself was fine, a short walk from the metro station, and a 5 minute drive into south shields.
We had breakfast in Taybarns, it was ok, not the best ive had in a premier inn, wasnt particularly warm or tasty compared to others, but it was ok tho seemed to be some discrepancy about payment. The first morning i paid for 2 adults and the 2 kids ate free (no problem there, was 1 adult, and 3 kids so i dont mind) but the next day, i was charged 1 adult and 1 child price, and 2 kids ate free - i dont mind but it would be better if there was consistency throughout the staff. That said, i would stay at this premier inn again as it was clean and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Property: Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing