We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at South Shields for 2 days/nights from 10/11/13. This was our 2nd visit. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. On arrival we asked reception for iron and ironing board. By the time that we had taken our coats off the iron and board had been brought to our room. What service! We had breakfast and evening meal at Taybarns each day adjacent to the Premier. You do not have to leave the building to reach the restaurant which is great in wet weather. All staff were polite and friendly at all times. A special mention for Janis on reception. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

A group of us stayed at the hotel for a gymnastics competition. I dealt with Fiona before we arrived, and she was extremely helpful. When we at the hotel, the restaurant manager and chef were extremely accommodating, opening the restaurant early and cooking something special for one of the gymnasts before the competition. The restaurant manager ensured we were booked in for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant was £13 for me and my daughter. Food wasn't a la carte, but we believe value for money for what we paid. Lots of choice too, which was great as was in a group booking. Similarly for breakfast, lots of choice for hungry gymnasts. And £7 for a bottle of wine, result!! Recption staff were extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel, and if we are at this competition next year, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raretraveller633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

All you can eat restarunt across seven cuisines I had pizza for an entrée followed by Steak for starter ha ha ha and you can go back as many times as you want !!!!!!!! Oh the premier inn was good too !!!! I am definitely returning !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strongbowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights (my husband and our 2 boys) as we were visiting family and friends. We only used the hotel for sleeping but I have to say the beds and pillows were so comfy! And the room was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. The staff were friendly and very helpful when I had to complain twice about someone smoking in their room. I would certainly return to this hotel again. We didn't use the restaurant during our stay.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank laura190781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of our cycling holiday from Barrow in Furness to Nescastle. The staff really couldn't have been friendlier, making room for our bikes to be stored in the laundry room overnight so that they were safe. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

All you would expect from a Premier Inn - decent sized, clean en suite room - a very good nights sleep. Overpriced though at £75 excluding breakfast.

The restaurant next door was a big, bustling and noisy establishment. I found the vegetarian options limited and not very tasty. A shame as it did take the edge of my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This must be one of the best Premier Inn that we have stayed in. The staff are great, the rooms are clean, and the whole team work well together to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
4.5 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing