We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Budget Chains by far ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best of the Budget Chains by far ”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

First time at Premier after staying at most of the other chains , we would it way superior to the others .
Reception was very friendly , the woman told us her name , when she finished & the names of the people through the night & who was on early .
The room was a good size , big bathroom & a huge comfortable bed . The room & hotel were very clean & well maintained .when ever we passed reception we were acknowledged .
We paid for a full breakfast which is served buffet style as much as you like in the adjoining Taybarns restaurant . £ 8.25 may seem high for breakfast but the quality of the sausage & bacon is very good & the choice of fruit ,cereal , Croissants , juice etc was very good . As well as as much as you wanted there was also unlimited tea & Costa Coffee .
I would definitely recommend this particular hotel & will stay with Premier again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    131
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
184
113
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel which was clean and tidy. The receptionist was very friendly on arrival. I would happily return. Parking was available at both the front and back of the hotel. There is a lift and the location is quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Don't go any where else this hotel is the best,great staff and the buffet is wonderfull 10/10 well worth the money, everything was modern and clean,Room was more than what we would have expected for the price. Just book it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A great welcome from Fiona on reception.

The room, was a bit of a disappointment. Whilst it had the usual comfy bed, TV and bathroom, all of which were clean, the room itself was in need of some work…

- The main door was loose, which meant that whenever a corridor door was opened, my door banged against its lock – it woke me a number of times early in the morning
- The bathroom door would not stay closed, which meant the nosy fan could be heard in my room. I stepped out of the shower into the open door – not great
- The toilet roll holder was missing – broken off – the toilet roll was left on top of the cabinet
- The thermostat and heater unit were noisy – clicking and humming every few minutes – I found myself lying there listening to it, waiting for it to click again
- The wifi would not allow me to connect, even though Fiona rang through to the support team and confirmed there was a fault, it didn’t seem to clear

I do not know the history of this hotel, although it felt like one they have recently acquired and had simply branded up as PI. For example, the bedside light unit panels were attached to the wall partially over some wall sockets, so I could not plug in my phone charger. There were some works to replace windows in rooms down the corridor from me, so they seem to be working to improve it.

The Taybarns next door is an all-you-can-eat restaurant, which is low on price, high on quantity. Whilst it offered good value, I felt I was eating in a school canteen, with the cafeteria style tables and piles of plates and cutlery. The food was hit and miss, with some dishes better than others. Don’t get me wrong, I like good value restaurants, it just doesn’t seem to fit with the PI brand – I would see this much more suited to a Travelodge.

As per my numerous other positive reviews about PI, unfortunately this one just didn’t make the mark – the mark set set by the PI brand in most of the other PIs I have stayed.

Whilst I raised these points at reception, I did not claim my money back as I still slept well enough on the comfy bed and I’m not into claiming for the sake of it.

Sorry Premier Inn, this hotel is damaging your brand.

My advice to those wanting to stay in the Port of Tyne would be to drive to the next nearest PI down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid room 63!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kes_Jules_Jaik_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at South Shields for 2 days/nights from 10/11/13. This was our 2nd visit. Room very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. On arrival we asked reception for iron and ironing board. By the time that we had taken our coats off the iron and board had been brought to our room. What service! We had breakfast and evening meal at Taybarns each day adjacent to the Premier. You do not have to leave the building to reach the restaurant which is great in wet weather. All staff were polite and friendly at all times. A special mention for Janis on reception. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A group of us stayed at the hotel for a gymnastics competition. I dealt with Fiona before we arrived, and she was extremely helpful. When we at the hotel, the restaurant manager and chef were extremely accommodating, opening the restaurant early and cooking something special for one of the gymnasts before the competition. The restaurant manager ensured we were booked in for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant was £13 for me and my daughter. Food wasn't a la carte, but we believe value for money for what we paid. Lots of choice too, which was great as was in a group booking. Similarly for breakfast, lots of choice for hungry gymnasts. And £7 for a bottle of wine, result!! Recption staff were extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel, and if we are at this competition next year, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raretraveller633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

All you can eat restarunt across seven cuisines I had pizza for an entrée followed by Steak for starter ha ha ha and you can go back as many times as you want !!!!!!!! Oh the premier inn was good too !!!! I am definitely returning !!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strongbowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 5 in South Shields
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Property: Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing