We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

First class customer service on reception on both days. Helpful, friendly staff. Clean and quiet room. Could have done with more than one pillow. Receptionist was beyond helpful, organising parking for us and giving suggestions on places in Amsterdam to visit,suitable for a disabled wheelchair user.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    122
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
176
100
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Found this hotel by chance and so glad we did, totally delivered all that was written and more, defiantly stay again.room was very clean, staff were very helpful breakfast was excellent.I would highly recommend.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very good hotel and great location for visiting relatives and friends in this area,both my children and myself were very comfortable with the room,very clean and well equipt.A lovely member of staff greeted us and was very informative of our options during our stay,the Taybarns restaurant had a great choice of food for all and friendly staff,and we ate here for breakfast and dinner because of the convenience,and the close proximity to our room.By night the corridor and hotel area around us was extremely quiet,and true to that Premier inn caption"we did have a guaranteed good nights sleep".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is very clean and had a very good shower, location spot on. Would definately stay here again. Attached Taybarns restaraunt was amazing what a choice of food ! Taxi into centre of town only 6 pounds .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_C187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Paid £120 for two night stay. Have stayed in lots of premier inns including a previous stay at this branch. However the room was very tired, stain on carpet, holes in wall and on furnishings, wood filler had been put on bathroom door and room door but hadn't been sanded or finished, bathroom door latch was permanently stuck inside door, toilet roll holder was hanging away from the mdf furnishing. Basically not the normal average standard you get from premier inn.. Also the mattress had a massive dip in it and you could feel the springs directly underneath. Lastly from about 0700 onwards kids were running up and down the corridor going to and from breakfast. If I paid £29 a night I wouldn't have cared but for near enough £60 a night i expected a slightly better standard. On positive side all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelajtolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very warm welcome. Helpful staff. Rooms spotless! Very comfy beds. Plenty of space for a family of 4. Powerful shower. Definite value for money. About 10 minute drive to beach. Breakfasts are all you can eat and there's plenty to choose from plus kids eat free. We'll definitely be staying here again and would recommend other people to do so too :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chels8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very clean and tidy, everyone very helpful. Comfortable stay. Like the fact that it has a Taybarns connected to it, which makes it easier for feeding the family without having to go further afield to find somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 6 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Property: Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing