We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmswood Guest House
Ranked #6 of 26 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ideal overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Elmswood is one of a host of B&Bs in Ocean Road. We stayed for one night. One of the reasons my wife and I chose the Elmswood was it was willing to accept a one night booking ... many now seem to demand a two night minimum.
Parking was no problem - plenty of space on the street outside. Nisha let us check in a bit early - 1:30pm - so we could drop our bag off and get out to meet friends.
Our room (4 on the first floor) was a front-facing family room and had a double and single beds. The room was spotless, had all the usual facilities and a very good shower. Bed was firm and comfy and we didn't experience any noise issues from outside.
Breakfast - full and cooked by Nisha's partner - was great.
Nisha made us feel comfortable from the start and we appreciated that.
Can't really fault the place!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a good size f you need a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
41
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome the whole place and especially our room was tastefully decorated. Great breakfast and Nisha was very friendly and helpful. We had a good nights sleep and the bed was very comfy ! Would highly recommend this lovely B&B !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopski71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rooms average, bedding and decor was fresh and contemporary. We arrived late but check in was still possible due to key safe. Breakfast and service was lovely. This is without doubt the best I've seen in South Shields.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank The_Other_Matt_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights and will return again soon, friendly staff and house top to bottom spotless.

South Shields is a great place to stay if you fancy a great night out or if like me you have a family.

Location was perfect for Beach, Pubs, Metro and all bus links.

Loads to do could of stayed for a month.

Price was perfect - ps could of charged more:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesterman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

10 of us from the Darlington magic circle stayed here for the Fri. Sat . The hotel is spotless the rooms are fantastic and the owners are great.
Made to feel really welcome very accommodating. And to be honest they deserve a model putting up with us .highly recommend. And we will be staying here for the magic convention in 2015

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

First visit to South Shields and what a treat to find a lovely, friendly, warm & welcoming B&B to stay at. Ideally situated to nearby restaurants, edge of town but also close to the beautiful beach. Definately the place to stay on my next visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: It had a little fridge, hair dryer and excellent shower. Decor was clean and crisp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
Thank Annemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

From start to Finnish we were looked after. Including information on the local area. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was fantastic! All in all it was a pleasure to stay here. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 6 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmswood Guest House

Property: Elmswood Guest House
Address: 77 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a warm and friendly Guest house. We have 6 rooms mostly En-Suite and freshly decorated. TV's in all rooms and Free-View channels, Very central to all transport, Plenty restaurants and bars, beautiful beaches, something for all to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing