We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elmswood Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Little Haven Hotel(South Shields)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athol House(South Shields)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sir William Fox Hotel(South Shields)
US$93
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Tynemouth)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Chedburgh Hotel(Whitley Bay)
US$72
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Metropolitan(Whitley Bay)
US$93
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
100
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bstayed hereplace to staylovely roombank holiday weekendsingle roomfamily roomfree wififeel welcomerugbymetroshields
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked here for 2 night stay, cannot fault it at all, bedroom had a 'wow' factor, exceptionally clean, very comfy bed, and spacious room, breakfast was very good. The owner Nisha informed us very well and made us very welcome. Would definitely stay here again if we were over this way. The beach looked fantastic too which was only ten minute walk.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisanbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel for my elderly aunt who is very hard to please and she had nothing but praise for this b & b, spotlessly clean and very accommodating, fantastic breakfast, great location. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well what can I say just had a one night stay here and wow its beautiful wud love to stay longer the decor is high class nothing is too much trouble we were made to feel really welcome. Fab shower and beds really comfortable breakfast was delicious great way to start the day. Thank you guys we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAIZZYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As with all of my reviews I judge a place (restaurant/hotel etc) as how they treat me and my diverse family as human beings, not on some mystical objectivity rating. By my own criteria, Elmswood scores very highly. The hotel is not a Premier Inn - all of the rooms are different. we booked the small family room (a double and a single). This was a misnomer - the room is not small at all. You walk in to be greeted by very tasteful decor (Nisha has done all of the bedrooms out herself and they ooze sophistication and glamour), beds (as described, though beautifully 'dressed'), a table and two chairs which give a lovely view down Ocean Road's panoply of restaurants, a mini-fridge (to help you store wine/milk/chocs/anti-histamine eye drops etc) overnight, as well as a wide dressing table and mirror, pine wardrobe and a well-presented toilet/shower room which was (as with the rest of the room) spotless! Nisha is a lovely woman - warm and friendly and very approachable - if you ask her something, she'll tell you what she knows. South Shields (for those who don't know) is a great North East seaside town. The beach is superb (and beautifully maintained by the Labour Council who trawl it of all litter nightly!); the pier is a 1.5km - a walk in itself; the nightlife (away from the Elmswood but within 10 mins walk) is canny ('vibrant', 'bouncy', 'up for it', 'downright in yer face'); the amusements are decent (full range of rides as well as indoor ten-pin bowling, indoor play-zone, slot machines, pub grub etc) and the parks (again a 5-10 min walk and replete with miniature railway, a boat club and lake, two kids play areas and - next door in Bent's Park - free summer music again subsidised by the Labour Council) all make this a great place to take the family. If you are looking for a place to take the family on a first visit to the north-east, then this is THE place..and Elmswood is a very good value alternative to a banausic Travelodge or Premier inn. The fact that it is invariably fully booked unless you book early is testament to the quality of the place.

Eating - breakfast was good and cooked to order. The only criticism we had was that the stable doors from the dining room were a bit too open to the kitchen (maybe a swing door that blocked it off more is needed?) but the food was spot on and they catered well for our vegetarian son - so thank you for that. If you can't find a restaurant that does not cater for your needs within 5 minutes of leaving the Elmswood, then you are one very fussy eater - as you will see if you visit Newcastle's free Discovery Museum (Labour Council), South Shields harboured the very first Asian community in the region and to this day there is a range of Asian cuisine.

Thank you for our stay at your lovely B&B.

Room Tip: All of them - the owner has a genuine knack for getting the best out a room - you walk in and every room (we saw) has a little it of a wow compared to the price they are asking...which says a lot
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank changingman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I find it impossible to find fault with this little guest house. The welcome, accommodation, helpfulness and breakfast were second to none. Loads of good places to eat and a lovely park, promenade and coastal walk. We really hope to return soon. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews