We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem found. try it and see”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmswood Guest House
Ranked #6 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
accrington lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“hidden gem found. try it and see”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wow what a super place this is The hostess with the mostess NISHA gave us a very warm welcome and was very pleasant along with hubby bryan who cooked a 1st class full English with all the trimmings. The hotel is located right on the local curry mile where a 3 course meal with drinks comes in at under a tenner.wow wow. The rooms at this bb are very modern , clean , and very comfortable but what sets this place apart from others are the fine details. shower gel and shampoo provided. tissues available, a decent chair in the room , fantastic hospitality tray,coat hangers plentiful, windows that open fully, nice décor, fanastic lighting, the list just goes on and on. pity we only had one night booked in but we intend to come back for a autumn break and stay a little longer. South shields itself has had millions spent on infrastructure and is a credit to the north east .

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidos777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
41
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business 17th July. I have stayed in various other B&B's on Ocean road and this is by far the best!
If you are looking for nicely decorated, smart, crisp, clean and friendly B&B, this is the one!

Nisha and Bryan are lovely and breakfast was great!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joeymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here for 2 night stay, cannot fault it at all, bedroom had a 'wow' factor, exceptionally clean, very comfy bed, and spacious room, breakfast was very good. The owner Nisha informed us very well and made us very welcome. Would definitely stay here again if we were over this way. The beach looked fantastic too which was only ten minute walk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisanbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this hotel for my elderly aunt who is very hard to please and she had nothing but praise for this b & b, spotlessly clean and very accommodating, fantastic breakfast, great location. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well what can I say just had a one night stay here and wow its beautiful wud love to stay longer the decor is high class nothing is too much trouble we were made to feel really welcome. Fab shower and beds really comfortable breakfast was delicious great way to start the day. Thank you guys we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAIZZYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As with all of my reviews I judge a place (restaurant/hotel etc) as how they treat me and my diverse family as human beings, not on some mystical objectivity rating. By my own criteria, Elmswood scores very highly. The hotel is not a Premier Inn - all of the rooms are different. we booked the small family room (a double and a single). This was a misnomer - the room is not small at all. You walk in to be greeted by very tasteful decor (Nisha has done all of the bedrooms out herself and they ooze sophistication and glamour), beds (as described, though beautifully 'dressed'), a table and two chairs which give a lovely view down Ocean Road's panoply of restaurants, a mini-fridge (to help you store wine/milk/chocs/anti-histamine eye drops etc) overnight, as well as a wide dressing table and mirror, pine wardrobe and a well-presented toilet/shower room which was (as with the rest of the room) spotless! Nisha is a lovely woman - warm and friendly and very approachable - if you ask her something, she'll tell you what she knows. South Shields (for those who don't know) is a great North East seaside town. The beach is superb (and beautifully maintained by the Labour Council who trawl it of all litter nightly!); the pier is a 1.5km - a walk in itself; the nightlife (away from the Elmswood but within 10 mins walk) is canny ('vibrant', 'bouncy', 'up for it', 'downright in yer face'); the amusements are decent (full range of rides as well as indoor ten-pin bowling, indoor play-zone, slot machines, pub grub etc) and the parks (again a 5-10 min walk and replete with miniature railway, a boat club and lake, two kids play areas and - next door in Bent's Park - free summer music again subsidised by the Labour Council) all make this a great place to take the family. If you are looking for a place to take the family on a first visit to the north-east, then this is THE place..and Elmswood is a very good value alternative to a banausic Travelodge or Premier inn. The fact that it is invariably fully booked unless you book early is testament to the quality of the place.

Eating - breakfast was good and cooked to order. The only criticism we had was that the stable doors from the dining room were a bit too open to the kitchen (maybe a swing door that blocked it off more is needed?) but the food was spot on and they catered well for our vegetarian son - so thank you for that. If you can't find a restaurant that does not cater for your needs within 5 minutes of leaving the Elmswood, then you are one very fussy eater - as you will see if you visit Newcastle's free Discovery Museum (Labour Council), South Shields harboured the very first Asian community in the region and to this day there is a range of Asian cuisine.

Thank you for our stay at your lovely B&B.

Room Tip: All of them - the owner has a genuine knack for getting the best out a room - you walk in and every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank changingman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I find it impossible to find fault with this little guest house. The welcome, accommodation, helpfulness and breakfast were second to none. Loads of good places to eat and a lovely park, promenade and coastal walk. We really hope to return soon. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Guest House
Forest Guest House
#4 of 25 in South Shields
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmswood Guest House

Property: Elmswood Guest House
Address: 77 Ocean Road, South Shields NE33 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a warm and friendly Guest house. We have 6 rooms mostly En-Suite and freshly decorated. TV's in all rooms and Free-View channels, Very central to all transport, Plenty restaurants and bars, beautiful beaches, something for all to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elmswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing