We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for beach and touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsmere Guest House
Ranked #5 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A lovely guest house in immaculate condition, very welcoming with one of the the best breakfasts in Britain. The Kingsmere is perfect for visiting the North East both coast and all the other wonderful attractions we had a fantastic week in South Shields, Durham and Northumberland.

Room Tip: Our party had both downstairs and upstairs rooms and both were excellent
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Kingsmere Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just spent four nights at this guest house, when we arrived we were greeted by Russell who welcomed us and showed us to our room, first impression wow what a beautiful room light and airy
beautifully decorated and furnished and of an excellent size. We unpacked our things and went downstairs as this was our first trip to northumberland we had no idea of where to eat and where to go
Russell was most informative and pointed us in the direction of the best eateries.
After a good nights sleep we went down to breakfast and were greeted by Russell and Pauline
our breakfast was fantastic good selection well cooked and presented. I can really say we could not fault this guest house and would love to go again highly reccomend you to try this

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annettepickforlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We're just on the last of our 3 nights here, and it's lovely. We were very warmly welcomed upon arrival and were helped to our room with our rather heavy bags.
The room (en-suite) is very spacious, only 2 of us, and we have a double bed and 2 singles. Very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is very good, and both of the women we have seen have been very friendly and exceptionally accomodating.
Great location for both shops and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst my wife was in South Shields hospital ( the hospital would not get a good review )
Was very happy with the room it had 2 single beds and a double ,it had everything you would need,was clean and comfortable,the owners were away on holiday and the young lady looking after the place was very friendly and helpful and made a lovely breakfast.
The guest house is about 50 yards from the hil top overlooking the enterance to the tyne which gives a great panoramic view ,walking down the road gets you to Ocean road were all the curry houses are ( if you like that sort of thing),was really impressed with the parks and cliff top walks especially to Souter lighthouse.
Would definetly stay in the Kingsmere again if we had to stay in South shields over night ( lets not hope for the hospital though )

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbriawalker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just got back from a one night stay at Kingsmere, South Shields.

First impressions were that the room was comfortable, clean and cosy and the owner was welcoming and informative about the area.

Great location for the beach and the town centre/metro (both within walking distance) whilst still remaining quiet and peaceful on an evening.

A good nights sleep with a full English breakfast to wake up to the next morning!

Recommended for those looking for a good value B&B in South Shields.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetAudrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Excellent bed & breakfast,Pauline & Russell are a lovely couple,a warm friendly welcome,rooms immacculate,a lovlely stay,will definately be going back

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Had a memorable stay. Pauline and Russell are warm, wonderful hosts.
The room was lovely, the bed comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We will definitely be returning!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest Guesthouse
Sea Crest Guesthouse
#8 of 25 in South Shields
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmere Guest House

Address: 9 Urfa Terrace, South Shields NE33 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: £42 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsmere Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmere Guest House is located off of Ocean Road, which means you have ready access to the shops, restaurants and bars of South Shields. The guest house has a comfortable tranquillity, being set back away from the main road, yet a five minute stroll in one direction will have you on the gorgeous beaches and access to Bents Park where there are many free concerts, exhibitions etc held throughout the year. All but one of our rooms are en-suite, the remaining room has access to its own private bathroom. There are colour TV's with Freeview, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water. complimentary toiletries, bathrobes & slippers in each room. We offer a varied breakfast menu from The 'Full English' to American Pancakes with Maple Syrup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Kingsmere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing