We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsmere Guest House
Ranked #5 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a lovely couple,got lost first night, rang Russel,straight away came and picked me up,room nice breakfast great,conversation. Very relaxed, well worth another visit,thx to the both of you.Peterborough. Makem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianmaz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a 3 night stay here to visit our son and go to a football match. Everything about the place made our stay very enjoyable. It is clean, comfortable, quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts were wonderful and really set us up for the rest of the day. Russell and Pauline are so friendly and easy to talk to. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. We definitely recommend this Guest House and would love to come back again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alihenrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the Kingsmere Guest House Sat 7th September 2013. We arrived to a lovely welcome, Also Pauline and Russell had contacted me the day before to let me know the room would be ready for us earlier so we could arrive and shower before the wedding we were attending, which went far and above what was expected. We were shown to our room, which was a family room for 4. 2 adults 2 teenagers. The room was spacious enough with a fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and en-suite. Pauline even offered to iron our clothes while we got ready. Amazing gesture. We all slept well and had the most amazing breakfast made by Russell, with plenty of fresh orange juice, coffee and toast as you can consume. Would definitely recommend and will most certainly be back for concerts etc. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This B&B is in a quiet street, a 5 minute walk from the beach and a street full of restaurants. Our triple room was light and airy with plenty of space for us all. The room was very clean, the beds comfortable, with an ensuite, large TV, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room, we had a great stay. Parking spaces were easy to find in the street outside the house. Breakfast was very good. We can recommend this B&B if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay in South Shields that gives you great value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GortyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The room was lovely very spacious clean and tidy. A lovely big tv and video. Pauline and Russ were there to meet us when we arrived they were hospitable and friendly nothing was too much trouble.The breakfast was the best one we have ever had in a guest house. We will stop there again when we visit South Shields.

Room Tip: we had room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 797steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a cracking place this is! Big Victorian terrace. All rooms very clean and decor in keeping with the period.
Beds were comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was superb. Thank you Russell.
Everyone was chatting at breakfast and talking about the day they had had previously. A real home from home. Pauline is a star at getting the conversation going.
Would recommend without hesitation. We stayed for one night as we were at a friends wedding in the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casid586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this lovely hotel many times for work and recently I took my family because I love the place , the owners are very friendly and can't do enough for ya .
The rooms are very spacious and very clean and we'll kept ,the breakfast is very nice and they cater for all tastes . Me and my kids love this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
745 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elmswood Guest House
Elmswood Guest House
#6 of 25 in South Shields
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmere Guest House

Address: 9 Urfa Terrace, South Shields NE33 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: £41 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsmere Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmere Guest House is located off of Ocean Road, which means you have ready access to the shops, restaurants and bars of South Shields. The guest house has a comfortable tranquillity, being set back away from the main road, yet a five minute stroll in one direction will have you on the gorgeous beaches and access to Bents Park where there are many free concerts, exhibitions etc held throughout the year. All but one of our rooms are en-suite, the remaining room has access to its own private bathroom. There are colour TV's with Freeview, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water. complimentary toiletries, bathrobes & slippers in each room. We offer a varied breakfast menu from The 'Full English' to American Pancakes with Maple Syrup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Kingsmere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing