We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round Guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Dam Guest House
Ranked #23 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant all round Guest house”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful location, ( within walking distance to pubs, shops & restaurants) but in a quiet little spot near, near the riverside. The room was spacious, very clean &comfortable, worth every penny we paid. Victoria the proprietor, is a lovely lady, nothing was too much trouble for her,we found her friendly,& warm. Great nights sleep,will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very good size rooms and very helpful staff. Will be staying again in the near future. The price of the room was very good and well worth the money. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights and had good night's sleep both nights

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here recently and would go back if in the area. Generally it was good. Very clean and comfortable and the lady who runs it was very pleasant. We had a small problem with our room which when we told her about was sorted very quickly which is what you want as things do go wrong but if people sort them you dont mind. AS they dont do breakfast which is fine you dont really see the owners unless you need to. The reason I have rated the sleep quality down is because we did have a problem with a noisy fan the 1st night that made sleeping difficult and our room was on the ground floor with patio doors which was nice but after getting very little sleep I was woken at 7.30am on the Friday by a man standing about 6 inches from the patio doors talking very loudly to another man for about 10 mins, he seemed to be doing some maintenence work in the garden. I did look out of the window so he knew I was there but he continued so in the end I shouted at him to shut up which he did. There was a buzzer in the reception to call them and we were told if they were out to ring as the phone would be divereted to their mobile. On the friday morning we wanted to alert them to the problem in our room to give then time to sort it during the day. I buzzed a couple of times and got no one so phoned and still got no one so we had to wait till the afternooon to speak to them. Also on the day we left it would have been nice to actually check out face to face as is usual in a guest house as they then normaly ask if you have enjoyed your stay etc. We left just after 9.30am and again pressed the buzzer and all we got was the male owner talking through the intercom asking what we wanted. When I explained we wanted to check out he just said "leave the keys on the desk" No good bye, was all ok nothing at all.If Id seen one of them I would have mentioned the problems I have put in this report but didnt get the chance. As I say we would go back there as it was mainly good but these little things let it down a bit and are so simple to fix.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janealison186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Quiet location near revitalised riverfront. Ample free parking and a clean comfortable en-suite room. Was very hot but Hey! even I can turn a radiator off. Breakfast no longer offered but not really bothered. Excellent pub (Steamboat) just up the road and town centre easy walking distance where there are plenty of decent pubs & restaurants.
Would definitely stay again when in area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.4 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmere Guest House
Kingsmere Guest House
#5 of 25 in South Shields
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Dam Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Dam Guest House

Property: Mill Dam Guest House
Address: 97 Mill Dam, South Shields NE33 1EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Dam Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mill Dam Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing