We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for disabled ! Super hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for disabled ! Super hotel.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booking was easy by telephone and the member of staff was really helpful. I mentioned that I am a smoker and was told that the hotel has an annexe, with quick access to an outside area. I also said that I have problems walking and was told that the annexe would be perfect, as it is all on one level.

When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist saw that I was walking with a stick and immediately offered us a free upgrade to Room 1 in the annexe, which is disabled-friendly and a family sized room. We were delighted ! Brownie points straight away.

The annexe turned out to be at the back of the main hotel. It is a single row of rooms with a conservatory-like structure in front of the rooms, giving access to the car park (with Blue Badge parking right outside !). It is accessed through a wheelchair friendly door (press large button outside - and inside - for it to open automatically). Access to this outer door was by 3 steps or a ramp.

The room itself was lovely: warm and welcoming. It had a double bed and a full sized single. The ensuite was great, very warm and clean and it had a wet room shower, a full-sized basin and a smaller one at a lower level. This was probably one of the best disabled-friendly bathrooms I have ever used in a hotel. On the down side, the room only had one window and no view (it looked on to the covered area outside the door, and the entrance door). That didn't matter too much to us, as we were out during the day and only got back when it was dark.

The problem with staying in the annexe, we found, was that it is not linked directly to the main building. One has to go outside and along the edge of the car park to get to both Reception and the breakfast/dining room. In bad weather, this might be a nuisance. One CAN go in through an entrance fairly close to the annexe and walk through the bar and restaurant to Reception, but there are 3 stairs to negotiate, which wouldn't be much good for someone in a wheelchair - they would have to go right the way round the outside. It was a shame about this, but I don't know how they might get round the problem without extensive building.

We had the full English breakfast that was included in the price and this was taken in a part of the restaurant, which was a fabulous place. We helped ourselves to cereals, fruit juices etc. but the waiter/waitress brought us a pot of coffee and asked for our order for cooked breakfast and toast, which was soon brought to us, piping hot, to the table. The food was absolutely delicious !

Overall, a really good hotel which is situated almost on the seafront and has easy access to the seaside park, beach, funfair (in season) and other amenities that South Shields has to offer.
I would certainly go there again: the price was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was super, the bathroom divine and the food delicious. If there had been covered access to the main hotel, I would have said this hotel was excellent.

A highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 in the Annexe is great if you are physically disabled in any way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    109
    75
    40
    23
See reviews for
116
120
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

been meaning to put this on since my wedding in November it was fabulous the staff were brilliant the party took the whole hotel bedrooms up their were spotless and food were great

A big thankyou to Alan and his staff nothing was a probelm to them and their had 160 day time and 200 evening guests

Would recommend venue to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

rooms spotless restaurant has food to die for.all staff friendly and extremely helpfull there are also plenty eateries within five minutes walk.they are on ocean drive ncknamed currie drive.every one is better than the other.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a table for New Year's Day the foods was excellent the choice was out of this world . The food was served by the most pleasant staff nothing was any trouble. It was hot and the portions were generous for the price you could not find better. Also you were not rushed and no added service charge so a tip was left. ROLL ON NEXT YEAR table already booked

Room Tip: Only went to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janette61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

sparky would like to thank all the staff at the sea hotel for there excellent service and all the fuss given to her on her short stop over , the sausages were excellent both at dinner and breakfast time , she highly recommends the sea hotel to all dogs needing a comfortable room for the night ........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossyboots2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Once again another brilliant time might not be ultra modern but everything was clean and tidy,rooms clean and beds comfortable tea and coffee facilities in room.The breakfast was lovely and cooked to perfection,most of all was the fantastic South Shields hospitality every member of staff extremely pleasant with always a cheerful face and a smile.Dont hesitate book Sea hotel you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at the Sea Hotel for a 5 week period. No complaints at all The staff were all very friendly rooms were of a very high standard. The food in the restaurant is of the highest standard, Alternatively the bar meals were also great value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Darren

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 970Darren082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing