We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Yateley
Level Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay once again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited this Hotel quite a few times now and yes it is a bit dated in places, it needs some redecorating, but these things take time in a Hotel. They can't just close for a few months to do it, it has to be scheduled to fit in with their bookings. The one draw back they have is no lift in the main building. We were B&B and both were very good, though the first days was a bit busy and the Manager had to come and help. Full English there is always good and the only criticism I have is that they do not have Soy milk. I am not intolerant, I just prefer it, but some people are and it would be good to have the choice. The long life milk is fine.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    106
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
114
117
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went to the Hotel for a family meal only. We were served in the main dining in room of the hotel by very friendly staff. The meal was good value and good quality. Not many people in the restauant when we were there so it was a little quiet. Would i eat there again. Yes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hailesfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner spent the night here for new year and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The staff (especially June) were very welcoming and friendly and we had such a good laugh with them. The room was also very clean and had spacious. Will definitely be staying here again. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellydudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Thought we'd try it for one night when visiting family in Shields.Very disappointed - the look of the place is tired and old. Room was clean but the shower was a joke!. My husband gave up after waiting for over 5 minutes for the water to get warm! Breakfast so so - it was fresh and hot but sausages were awful,my poached eggs were perfect but my husbands were like boiled eggs. Toast was burnt. Had to wait when we requested more toast -not burnt! - the waitress was obviously too busy doing other things. No enquiry as to whether we enjoyed our food or if we enjoyed our stay when paying the bill. Definately lacking in a warm welcome. We won't be returning - I prefer where we usually stay - the other large hotel down the road!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked large room with seaview was very disappointed. Had to stand and look out of window at side which looked over side of hotel to look at sea. Could not sit and look out. Whole place looked very dated and bedroom door had gap under .

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank paintpot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 6 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing