We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel. The staff really do go the extra mile and can't do enough for you. Only had breakfast which was amazing but will make sure I eat a bar snack next time as looked good value. I was stopping for a special birthday and when the staff found out they made it a very special breakfast indeed. Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLorettaFrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    109
    75
    40
    23
See reviews for
116
120
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good hotel close to the amenities, rooms well decorated, bathrooms need a refurbishment but overall a good hotel. If you like Indian curries this is the hotel, there must be 20+ within 0.5 miles. You can see the sea from the hotel and the beach is very good,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

only stayed for one night to visit sick relative close by, but would use this hotel again food and service very good,rooms clean and comfortable. only minor complaint room a little to hot and bath hot water pressure a little low.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We frequently eat at the Sea Hotel and can honestly say its the best place to eat in South Shields. I work for a Community Group and every month I take a group of at least 20 people for a lunch because I know for a fact that everyone will totally enjoy it and be made to feel really special by the excellent staff waiting on us. Def thumbs up to the Sea Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Good friendly hotel, well away from the town centre madness. 20 mins walk to shields marine safety centre. Good food, nice old school restaurant and great breakfasts. Friendly staff made it feel homely, would definitely stay again. Good for seafront walks, park, swimming pool and theatre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Windmillingthebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As a former Head Chef of this hotel (1981-83 ) when it was a Swallow Hotel, it was great to see the standard of food and service was excellent. content of menu covered every taste. we attended a 65 wedding anniversary lunch today and everyone I spoke to commented on the service looking forward to a visit in May. the only down side was the poor young girl in the bar seemed to be very busy on her own for the amount of customers. well done all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
685 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing