We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks roughish but is a diamond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    107
    75
    40
    22
See reviews for
115
117
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

3 Score and 10, finally made it with a fantastic night out at the Sea Hotel South Shields.
70 Guest and myself had a super evening, the food was excellent as always and the staff were brilliant looking after the guest everything was well planned by the hotel management and the room was graciously adorned for the evening. A photo booth was was available for everyone who wanted to dress up to have photographs taken and a fantastic disco to finish the night off.
I have visited the Sea hotel for many functions over the years but they certainly did me and my guest proud...A wonderful night Out. Cheers to all and the Bar Staff, Woody

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thanks to June and the staff at the sea hotel,we went there for afternoon tea and had a lovely afternoon, the food was lovely and the staff were great, Leanne gave us a good laugh,and we were well looked after by everyone from start to Finnish,looking forward to going back again soon , great value for money and would highly recommend recently had afternoon tea at another hotel in the area, but it didn't compare to the sea hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned home from a stay at the Sea Hotel with friends. From the minute we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a family room in the annex, very clean comfortable room and easy access to the car park. It was very warm in the room so the 2 electric fans were used and through the night.
We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant great selection on the menu, food was excellent and good sized portions. Breakfast was very good fresh cooked full English and hot even though it was very busy. Chris from the restaurant who served us dinner and breakfast was very helpful and friendly, and made sure we were looked after.
If visiting South Shields you have to stay at the Sea Hotel. Great Location too.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex, quieter and easy access to car park, although there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveposhhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On arrival, staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room is very comfortable, I needed nothing extra. Breakfast was second to none with a wonderful assortment of cereal and dried fruits, and the full English was spot on. Again, breakfast staff were warm and friendly. Overall a very welcome stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telemedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great little hotel with brilliant staff. They really turned a couple of days at the seaside into a fantastic weekend with their local knowledge and recommendations. Hotel room was functional and perfect for a couple. Room was very tidy and clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Drove from St Helens Merseyside and had a 1 night stay here , our room was lovely and clean bedding was spotless , very comfortable nights sleep , tea coffee making facilities etc provided in room, flat screen tv, electric fan, hairdryer, nice hot shower ..not short of anything .Room was nice and warm, with a lovely view of the sea, Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent , would not hesitate to stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 5 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 5 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Sea Hotel

Property: Best Western The Sea Hotel
Address: Sea Road, South Shields NE33 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flat screen television. Freeview and terrestrial channels. Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet connection. Direct dial telephone. Hairdryer. Trouser press. Tea & coffee making facilities. All come as standard in Best Western - The Sea Hotel bedrooms. Our hotel annex provides five extra bedrooms for disabled customers. Secured private car park. Friendly Pub. Private restaurant. Bar. Conference & Event rooms. We have everything you need for a relaxing enjoyable stay at the Sea Hotel in South Shields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Shields
South Shields Best Western
Best Western Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing