We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lovely view, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
2,124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely view, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I have been here for morning coffee a number of times. We always sit in the conservatory so that we get a view of the ferries and other ships leaving the Tyne. We decided to have a light lunch and found the food of a very good standard and reasonably priced. The staff are very obliging. The only thing I do not like is that you have to queue up to order and pay before you get your food but other than this minor annoyance it is excellent - and there is plenty of free parking if you wish to have a walk along the front afterwards.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    174
    62
    30
    30
See reviews for
221
197
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was our 2nd stay at The Little Haven and it didn't disappoint. Friendly staff and a fabulous location. There were 2 weddings during our stay and it didn't interfere one bit. Our room was clean and tidy. The en suite was immaculate with the best shower I have ever used. In fact it was so powerful the fire service could use it asa hose. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josofine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This little hotel has a great location at the mouth of the River Tyne with tremendous views of shipping coming in and out of the river, a spectacular experience when some of the larger vessels slide by.

The hotel has a relatively small number of rooms and seems to thrive on a brisk wedding trade and low cost meals. Consequently the restaurant and bar meal areas have a brisk trade with residents and non residents alike. The quality of the fayre is pretty routine at best and I was presented with the worst pot of tea I've ever experienced. I genuinely thought it was coffee given to me by mistake until I saw a tea bag in the pot.

South Shileds is a mecca for people who like fish and chips. A good hotel for people who want a slightly different experience off the beaten tourist track and also for ship watchers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanerope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed one night - a Saturday - on which the hotel had three weddings - perhaps not an optimum time to make a measured judgement of the hotel and facilities; it was hectic to say the least! We ourselves were part of a party of sixteen. Having said that, we found the staff obliging, good-natured and anxious to be of service. Our room was well-appointed, overlooking the river. Fears over noise emanating from a wedding party down the corridor were unfounded. Our Saturday evening meal was excellent, courteously served in a private dining room. The Sunday morning buffet breakfast was very adequate. On this limited evidence - yes, we would stay again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If your in no hurry & don't mind greasy crockery, then this place is for you. Horrid coffee & undertraoined staff. Management seemed totally blase about any complaints and refunded money without even asking what the problem might have been, let alone trying to solve it!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulrex0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel as a guest on a couple of occasions and couldn't faulter ther hotel or staff outr stay was faultless. Just loved everything about the hotel food, rooms etc. Perfectly situated right beside the beach. Decided that we wanted to get married here so made an appointment with a wedding co ordinator for a Saturday evening in July 2012. All I can say is that we're so glad we went on a Saturday when there were 3 wedding parties there, Two words to discribe what we say while waiting in the lounge "Total Chaos". We noticed three brides at one time in the lounge with their guests. Hotel staff running around lie headless chickens, even one member of staff running over one brides train with a trolley. Eventually we were seen to and told a couple of wedding had ran late. Obviously they hadn't took this into concideration and couldn't cope. Needless to say we will not be holding our wedding here. I also have been to a wedding here and it was so perfect, but yet again it was the only wedding being held here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Over a number of years I have used this hotel for business and pleasure.It is an excellent hotel with very obliging staff.
The location is superb as it is right at the mouth of the river Tyne.
It is an excellent hotel for conferences as well as other less formal functions.
The rooms vary in size however they all have very good facilities.
the superior rooms are well worth paying the extra and the suites are superb.
A hotel well worth considering
The General Manager is very supportive ansd always available to help and advise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 6 in South Shields
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
638 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 6 in South Shields
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Property: Little Haven Hotel
Address: River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing