We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a family room while on a course at the maritime college. As an officer in the merchant navy i travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels around the world so i can say with experience that this hotel is very over priced for what it offers, the rooms are poor and the food is very average and to charge over £100 a night for a very average family room is scandalous.
I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simrob176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are sorry that the Merchant Navy Officer did not find our humble 3 star Hotel to his liking, we would refer to many reviews that express a contrary opinion.

The Hotel employs a full time decorator and the rooms are refurbished each year.

The bedroom occupied has extra floor space , a table , sofa bed and stunning river view across the Tyne to North Shields. The room is occupied most weekends and we have not experienced a complaint of this nature until now. We are aware that pricing is key for guests and if approached we would always check if we could offer a better rate and do offer preferential rates to those attending South Tyneside College when we are made aware of this on booking.

The gentleman only ate in our restaurant on one occasion and we are once again sorry that the experience was not enjoyable.

We do hope that when visiting the College from Spain in the future we will see the guest again.

Yours faithfully,

Graham Davidson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been coming here on occasion for some years. We always sit n the huge conservatory at the back of the hotel overlooking the sea as you get a lovely view and you can watch the ferries leaving the Tyne. You can also have a short stroll after you have imbibed. The tea is good quality and the cakes look ok. We did not eat here this time but the food has been good in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

The Hotel does have a view which in our opinion is second to none.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and are grateful for your comments regarding the food and ambience on a previous visit.

Many thanks and hope we will see you again soon.

Graham Davidson

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Love coming here, staff are always friendly and welcoming, my second visit in as many months and we stayed in and had steak on the Friday. Two for £20 with a drink can't beat it unless you want to go for a more traditional English meal and visit ocean road and have a curry. Keep up the good work..... We won't be back for a while as I'm off on HOLIDAY! Wo Ho!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We thank you for your kind and enthusiastic comments regarding our Steak Night.

Your feedback is so important and it really means a lot to the team.

Hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Davidson

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I went to stay with my partner for the weekend who was there for two weeks attending a course for his job nearby.
I was made to feel very welcome and was not only impressed by the size of the room but it was immaculately clean and the furnishings were modern and decoration was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable. It's unique setting meant there were often ships passing right past your bedroom window.
I had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday and it was steak night. Excellent 3 course menu for less than £20 and my steak was cooked perfectly. I found all the staff to be really friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed and this was despite the hotel being extremely busy and felt like you were visiting friends. The restaurant is run by an amazing team headed by Michael. My thanks to you all for looking after us so well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding a recent stay at The Little Haven Hotel.

Once again it is really rewarding for the team to receive feedback of this nature.

Our goal is to make all of our guests feel at home and we are pleased to have been able to give you that experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Davidson

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a great stay... I just spent 2weeks here, different menu every day, fantastic food.... great staff.... very polite and very approachable. This is a must stay you will not be disappointed.

Special thanks to
Michael the Supervisor
Alison and Lorraine morning staff in the dining room sooooo nice

I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

It is particularly pleasing from our point of view that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.

I can imagine that two weeks away from home attending a course or working cannot be something you would necessarily look forward to.

We are glad that all the team made such a good impression and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Davidson

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a brilliant 4 day break, hotel fantastic and spotlessly clean, Staff in every department excellent and so friendly, did not want to leave and cant wait to visit again soon. The food in the restaurant: excellent buffet breakfast with a wide choice. Restaurant in the evening also had a wide choice of dishes and portion sizes were very generous with average prices. The bar and table drinks were very reasonable.
When we visited the weather had taken a turn for the worst but would imagine it is beautiful sitting outside on the terrace in the summer watching the ships going in and out.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Tyne River and the sea .....wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Little Haven Hotel.

We do pride ourselves on our customer service and are pleased that you felt so welcome.

As a small family run business feedback of this nature really gives the team a morale boost and makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Kind regards,

Graham Davidson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Food was lovely I had the Mixed Grill it was as it said about 18 ounces if not more and me being a big lad lapped it up with a pint of Theakaton's or 2 my partner had a Salmon Salad she also enjoyed we both had a nice ice cream which was of the very best quality also see you all again soon and keep up the good work

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Little Haven Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Graham Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
713 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Address: River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing