We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were visiting durham lumiere festival and stayed here (a coach party). Staff very friendly and helpful (especially michael), catering and food very good considering the large group. The room was well appointed and large enough and the location is excellent, went for a lovely walk on the beach after a large sunday breakfast. Will definitely pay a return visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddietheprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Little Haven Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently stayed (Oct 15th) at the Little Haven Hotel. Reception staff unprofessional, untidy and like to chat among themselves whilst we were waiting to check in. Once in to the room (with no help offered to carry our luggage, despite have a small toddler and 2 large suitcases) the room had not enough bath towels, tea/coffee facilities. The room was very dated and the base of the bed was revolting full of stains, obviously had not been replaced since the hotel opened.

The restaurant is the biggest let down to the hotel. Food is blatantly pre-cooked and frozen, and microwaved. Seafood clearly frozen too despite having the Fish Quay opposite the hotel. Coffee is like dishwater.

Hotel with a lot of potential, lacking the right management!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We are sorry to hear the guests comments regarding our Front of House team. It is unusual to receive such negative feed back about any of our staff and we have investigated the accusations. The Reception staff have been kitted out with new uniform recently and cannot explain the comment regarding the staff being untidy. The reception area is constantly buzzing with activity and we apologise that the guest was not aknowledged instantly.

As a 3 star hotel we do not have a porter service but will be glad to help any guest with luggage upon reguest. The reception is situated within 4 meters of our lift which services the first and second floor.

We supply a small amount of tea and coffee in the bedrooms and upon reguest extra supplies can be delivered to the room. Unfortunately only two sets of towels were left in the room and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

In contrast to the guests comments regarding the seafood, we receive a fresh fish delivery daily and only use the best available. We can assure the guest that the food is not pre cooked and the range and flat stove we have is used for cooking and not the microwave.

We have a Coffee Club at the Hotel which is patronised by many local residents in our Conservatory Restaurant, the Coffee is made with 100% Arabica beans, we are sorry that the guest did not find our Coffee to their liking.

It is a shame that the Guest did not choose to mention their issues whilst at the Hotel as they would have then witnessed how pro active and genine the Management Team are.

We would welcome the chance to discuss the issues raised with the guest at any time in the future.

Graham Davidson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We celebrated a 70th birthday party at this venue. Received wonderful service from the staff, who helped set up the room for the evening. Enjoyed a scrumptious buffet. Michael, the staff supervisor, checked with us to see that everything was to our satisfaction. The bar staff worked hard all evening keeping the guests supplied. Paul the D.J. was an asset and helped the party go with a swing. .
A number of guests stayed overnight at the hotel and were impressed by their accommodation.
All in all an excellent experience.
Thank you, Little Haven.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Put in a "smoking room" despite both non-smokers and unable to change, the room and corridor still had smoke smell. Location for beach and the christening we were attending was excellent. The attitude of the staff was at all times friendly, welcoming and helpful. Saturday was a nightmare as there were two large celebrations meaning the closure of the main restaurant. The promised signs to the substitute restaurant (a fundtion room) never appeared. When meeting for a pre dinner drink, our party of seven were unable to get a seat and table as all were reserved for a private function. Despite all those people being in their room we were told we could not use the unoccupied seats! They seemed unconcerned as to residents. The evening was somewhat rescued by the actions of Michael the Senior Supervisor who ensured the dinner service was excellent with his attention and humour. The hotel management really got this one wrong - thank heaven for Michael!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We traveled as family attending the Christening of the youngest child of a relative, staying in this hotel mainly because of its location to the other family members. My main problem was that as a single person there was no reduction for "single person occupancy" (the reason given was that the room is already discounted over the weekend.)Effectively penalised - 1 for the price of 2. The room was very drab and not very welcoming but the maid service was good. At the same time unfortunately the hotel was hosting 2 separate weddings. As all dining areas were to be taken up we were told that we would be advised of the location of our dinner reservation for that evening. This was not so. When meeting up for a pre-dinner drink the lounge/bar area was teeming with wedding guests. We looked for a table and approached one but this was reserved. We were informed that this was reserved for members of the wedding but were still in the reception. We said we only wanted to sit for a drink but were told that we could not use it even though it was not being used at that time. We then asked about the dining arrangements for residents and were told that we were in another room. Several tables that were put into a spare hotel room (board room or something) was the chosen place for us. We were told we could get our drink when seated. We were very unhappy with this as we felt like second class citizens. However the meal could not be faulted other than one main course wanted by three persons was all gone! The only saving grace was the good humor and attention of Michael the Staff Supervisor (I believe). Thanks to him the evening was rescued. Unfortunately, this was my first trip to Newcastle and I feel it may also be the last!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are sorry that the guest felt that she was penalised for travelling as a single person. We do not have a single occupancy rate and have operated this way since opening in 1998. Some Hotels in the area do offer a limited number of single occupancy rooms but in my experience it is not often promoted.

We are a business Hotel Monday to Friday with predominantly single occupancy. The weekend rate is discounted and is common practice amongst Hotels.

We are sorry that the guests were inconvenienced by the number of Functions being held. Weddings are a large part of our business and we try and get the balance right to look after non Wedding guests.

We are sorry that on this ocassion the information requested was not forthcoming and the guests did not like the alternative dining room offered.

Seating could and should have been made available for pre-dinner drinks when we had the space available and please accept my apologies that this did not happen.

Action has been taken on this matter and once again please accept our apologies.

We thank you for your comments regarding the Food and Service and are glad that Michael was able to look after you.

In future we will be supplying all non Wedding guests with an arrival letter explaining dining arrangements and also confirmation on booking if any events are taking place.

We do hope that the guest will re consider and visit the Little Haven Hotel again.

Yours faithfully,

Graham Davidson


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a family room while on a course at the maritime college. As an officer in the merchant navy i travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels around the world so i can say with experience that this hotel is very over priced for what it offers, the rooms are poor and the food is very average and to charge over £100 a night for a very average family room is scandalous.
I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simrob176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are sorry that the Merchant Navy Officer did not find our humble 3 star Hotel to his liking, we would refer to many reviews that express a contrary opinion.

The Hotel employs a full time decorator and the rooms are refurbished each year.

The bedroom occupied has extra floor space , a table , sofa bed and stunning river view across the Tyne to North Shields. The room is occupied most weekends and we have not experienced a complaint of this nature until now. We are aware that pricing is key for guests and if approached we would always check if we could offer a better rate and do offer preferential rates to those attending South Tyneside College when we are made aware of this on booking.

The gentleman only ate in our restaurant on one occasion and we are once again sorry that the experience was not enjoyable.

We do hope that when visiting the College from Spain in the future we will see the guest again.

Yours faithfully,

Graham Davidson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been coming here on occasion for some years. We always sit n the huge conservatory at the back of the hotel overlooking the sea as you get a lovely view and you can watch the ferries leaving the Tyne. You can also have a short stroll after you have imbibed. The tea is good quality and the cakes look ok. We did not eat here this time but the food has been good in the past.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

The Hotel does have a view which in our opinion is second to none.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and are grateful for your comments regarding the food and ambience on a previous visit.

Many thanks and hope we will see you again soon.

Graham Davidson

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Address: River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £68 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing