We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This WAS the best hotel in south shields, feel let down.”
Review of Little Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2005

We have stayed at this hotel ona number of occasions, and we loved it, right by the sea its in a great location, but on arriving on this occasion we felt something had changed.

The staff had changed including the hotel manager, we got the impression that the hotel had changed hands.

We entered our room to find Blood on the light switch, which immediately put us off. The room was abit scruffy really and not acceptable so we decided to leave. My wife was so upset she did not want me to complain, this was the last time we ever went to the little haven.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dazsly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 738 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2005

We have stayed at the Little Haven a few times while visiting relatives in the area.It is always clean and comfortable with stunning sea views. Breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the beach is a real treat for the senses. Little Haven is also very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patmills16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2005

Stayed at the Little Haven for business purposes and have had business meetings there in the past. Really lovely location, right on the beach and the design of the hotel takes full advantage of this. Rooms are clean and a good size, a reasonable price and contain almost everything you'd need for a short stay.

This hotel is let down by its very patchy staffing, service veers from really helpful and friendly to offhand and impersonal. But the worse thing about the Little Haven is the appalling food - it's difficult to understand how it can be so bad but it really is! I'm struggling to think of anything good to say about it, because from breakfast to dinner it's poor. Staffing in the restaurant is enthusiastic and friendly, which is great but can't make up for the dry, over-cooked meals they serve. The dinner menu is over long and ambitious, (frequent problem in this kind of hotel) and makes me immediately suspect that the microwave plays a huge part in preparation, (and don't go near the "parmesan" cheese!). they'd do better to concetrate on a simpler, shorter menu cooked well.

Also, be warned - during the holiday period the hotel is really very noisy into the late hours due to the evening kareoke. Great if you are on holiday, but no member of staff mentions this when you check in despite there being a real mix of clients.

Overall, I'll stay again as there's really no where else of a similar quality, but definitely go elsewhere to eat!

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reisende246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ruslan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graham2009, General Manager at Little Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
424 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tynemouth
713 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Haven Hotel

Address: River Drive, South Shields NE33 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Little Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Your Hotel Little Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing