We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. ”
Review of Sundial

Sundial
Ranked #166 of 201 Restaurants in South Shields
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing. ”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

A confusing 'offer' menu. Looks like burger and a pint for £4.99. It's not. You could get one burger type with a drink for this price. I ordered a double stack burger. So over cooked, it was vile. Clearly pre cooked then heated to order. So many other places around of a similar price. I won't come here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    49
    67
    192
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Adequate but slow”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very slow, didn't have alot of the things on the menu, couldn't serve fish and chips as they didn't have it available. Very, very slow service of over a hours wait, but food was good quality. I could ramble on about how bad it was but to be honest it was nice for a meal, just slow and unprepared. I think new management is needed here, thats the only issue.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good points? Erm nope”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

After visiting other Hungry Horse pubs we thought that the food would the same standard, how wrong we were. I ordered a cheese burger with chips, my boyfriend ordered mixed grill and my daughter had a kids meal which was a burger. Presentation of the meals was terrible. My meal arrived with a warmish burger on a stale bun with chips and a dollop of ketchup splated in the plate. My boyfriend s mixed grill comprised of a small leathery peice of steak, a burnt egg, gammon, chips and very very over cooked hard chewy tiny chicken breast. My daughter's meal arrived with freezing cold curly fries. The pub itself is very tired looking. We found one set of toilets totally out of order so we walked to the other side of the pub to the other toilets to find only 2 working. We definitely won't be making a trip back here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!! AVOID”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Terrible food, terrible staff, terrible management and to top it off a dirty old looking hungry horse!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownchristina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“party”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I recently had my birthday celebration at the Sundial and was appalled by the lack of communication from the staff and I did not get the arranged buffet or correct amount of tables for the amount I had catered for the table cloths were like bed sheets that had been slept in. When I emailed Simon after my party to complain (Simon was who was dealing with my party) he never replied to any of my emails. There was also a shortage on drinks no beers just lager and limited choice on spirits. I definitely do not recommend this as a function room.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundial also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Wallsend, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing