We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of the coast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Souter lighthouse

Souter lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great views of the coast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Dramatic views and lots of space to walk and enjoy the sea air. Really helpful guides. You can climb the tower for the full vista.
Interesting info re this challenging coastline for sailors and lots of entertainment for children.
Didn't try the cafe but the people in there seemed happy
Free parking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    44
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Souter Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Souter Lighthouse have a varied Summer Programme of events. There are lots of activities for families with children and we were lucky enough to go on a wild and whacky Wednesday. The play area is lovely with picnic tables and a pirate ship to play in. The wild garden was beautiful with butterflies flitting around poppies and other wild flowers. The lighthouse itself is fascinating and we had a tour from a National Trust volunteer who was very knowledgeable about the history. We particularly liked the Lighthouse Keeper's cottage with Rag Rugs in front of the old range and a dolls house in the bedroom that the children were allowed to play with. There is also a room inside for when the weather becomes bad where children can dress up in pirate clothes and play in a ship.
The cafe was good and traditional foods for the area are served .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Singin' Hinnies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Others have mentioned the lighthouse, activities, picnic area and and friendly staff but the thing that brings me back is the simply fantastic Singin' Hinnies that they make in the tea rooms. Its a local traditional flat scone, quite similar to a welsh scone, I've used the NT recipe but mine still don't come out as good as the ones at Souter Lighthouse. Apart from the tearooms (entry free), the view from the top of the lighthouse is good and the reconstruction of the lighthousekeeper's rooms is nicely done and very interesting but if you only do one thing - make it a singin' hinnie!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow,England
Level Contributor
391 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nice views, lovely area to walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I often park up here and use it as a basis for a walk either down towards Shields or up towards Whitburn and Sunderland, parking is plentiful, never had a problem parking, good area for picnic as well. The lighthouse is an interesting little visit and free to NT members. As a side not i once absayled down the lighthouse for charity and is seems a lot bigger then.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JarraMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice short visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited with my three young girls, members of nt, so free entry. Staff at reception very friendly and intersected well with my girls. Girls enjoyed the quiz, we played in the activity centre, had a walk up to the top of the lighthouse and played in the play area outside, where we also enjoyed our picnic.
Lovely views from here also. Best part for my girls was being able to operate the security camera and spy on people up in the lighthouse!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarahriddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souter lighthouse also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Souter lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing