We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay overall opinion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annie's Guest House
Ranked #10 of 26 South Shields B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
castleford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent stay overall opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We came back from annies yesterday after a pleasant three night stay my only bad point about annies is we was on the top floor with mobility problems but this was our fault it wasn't mentioned on booking the room was small but very clean and we'll equipped even iron and small ironing board you could use fridge in dining room and microwave another nice thought and breakfast is freshly cooked to order and lovely it was too the bathroom was shared and on the middle landing but this wasn't too much of a problem I would stay there again but would need a room on a lower flooryou was made to feel welcome but these people did not intrude into your holiday unless you wanted them to

Room Tip: Just make your needs known on booking to make sure you get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
13
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed at Annies Guest house for the second time and once again was very happy. Comfortable room with flat screen tv and writing desk (important as I was on a training course).
Breakfast is first class.
Hope to return again, some time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

After gaining employment at STDH I was concerned at my travelling time from North Yorkshire. I looked into hospital accomodation but nothing was particularly useful to me... I googled "Hospital Accomadation, South Shields" and up sprung Annie's Guesthouse. Wow! What a gem! I have now stayed here on several occasions and each time I've been greeted like an old friend and made to feel welcome.

I have stayed in a single, double and the family room (though only booked double!) and each and every room has been clean, tidy and contained everything you could require for an overnight stay. I will admit that I prefer the single rooms for their cosiness - Staying away from home along can be lonely and the family room was huge for just me. Linda is very friendly and super efficient checking you in and sorting out room codes even for late check-ins as hospital shifts can be a little unreliable for getting off at time. Well, I needn't have worried. Everything was sorted for me and I was able to arrive without problem. My room was cleaned whilst I was at work every day and all the facilities replenished.

The breakfast is good - June is evidently very experienced in providing this service as I have received whatever I have ordered within about 10 minutes of arriving downstairs. Not only this, but the website advertises breakfast from 7.30 - June has happily facilitated an earlier breakfast in view of hospital shifts and I have not been limited in what I can order due to the early arrival. Breakfast is tasty - Cereal and juice followed by cooked breakfast. You eat your cereal whilst June cooks breakfast - Obviously if you choose not to have cereal then you can sit and drink your tea watching TV waiting for your breakfast.

Checking out is no bother - They take cards or cash and you can sort it out over breakfast and I've never been left waiting around to pay whilst June is busy.

I will definitely be staying there again - I've already booked for my next 2-3 weeks of shifts!

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nici T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Visited Annies Guest House,April2012.... as we all need to have a good nights sleep and the advert said all the beds had memory foam mattresses ? The room was very clean and all we needed for our short stay alas!!!!.... the bed was not, it was a metal framed double bed with a single next too it (also metal framed) as soon as we sat on the bed it creaked and once we tried to lay down the sqeaking just got worse with every little movement, so alas we neither of us got any sleep.and even the single bed next to it sqeaked really badly as well...,we did advise the owner and they were very apologetic but i can't help thinking that the bed will not be changed and so some one eles will suffer from a sleepless night as we did.The breakfast was good but only one person cooking and serving so it took ages.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a divan ???not a metal framed bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theparkertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Wanted a bed for the night and a good breakfast for me and my teenage son who were staying over after going to the match in Newcastle.
We got everything we needed and more.A large comfortable ensuite room with double and single bed,large flat screen TV,free wi-fi and tea and coffee facilities and we could park right outside free of charge.
The property was in a quiet road but close to the town centre and I had a peaceful night's sleep which is more than can be said for my son (due to my snoring apparently!!)
Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious and we could even watch Match of the Day while we enjoyed it.
We received a warm welcome from everyone we met and would have no hesitation recommending Annies to anyone visiting the area.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

myself and my partner stayed the night in this guest house.we had been travelling allnight from norfolk so all we wanted to do was go to sleep so when arriving at annies they made our room up and let us in straightaway.when we got in the room it was lovely and basic and very clean.they even gave us the family room even thou there was two of us!the owners made us feel very welcome and because we was on a quiet road we had a very good nights sleep!the best bit of the stay was the breakfast!if i was ever to go back to south shields then i would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No Fixed Abode
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed in Annie's for nearly 5 weeks whilst studying at South Tyneside College as the Halls of Residence was full of Cadets! :-(

During this time I couldn't fault it. My room was cleaned every day, the shared bathroom and toilets were in great condition and when I had time to eat breakfast it was excellent. It was possible to get a weeks laundry done on the same day for about £5 or £6 which was one less thing I had to worry about while I was at the college. My wife joined me at various times during my studies and Linda was very helpful at letting me chop and change rooms to accomodate this.

My only complaint would be noise as it was a terraced property but so is nearly every other guest house in Shields and it was certainly a lot less hectic than some of the other places on Ocean Road, which can be a bit loud on the weekends (though it a great place for a curry!)

On the whole though Annie's was exactly what I needed for my time in Shields and would definitely stay again if I return to the town in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllOverThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.7 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 6 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 26 in South Shields
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Guest House

Property: Annie's Guest House
Address: 106 Beach Road, South Shields NE33 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Annie's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annie's Guest House is a family-run bed and breakfast South Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Annie's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing