We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed recently for a few nights. Room 2 was large and attractive (more so than the original we were given on the top floor). Bed was heavenly. Shower was to die for but drainage poor. Most of staff were friendly, especially Ashleigh. Breakfast was ok, improved each day but sometimes we were waiting a long time for service and didn't always get everything we'd asked for. Always managed to get a space in car park. Room mainly very clean though the sofa and carpet could do with a more thorough clean. Nice large wall-mounted TV. A bit noisy being on the ground floor at night with staff greeting guests and answering the phone but not enough to put us off. Overall, was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveholidays7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

we found the hotel to be clean and tidy and you couldn t fault the cleanliness of the room or bedding.
staff were friendly and helpful at all times the only faults we found are
1. The main entrance area at the rear could do with overalling and painting.
2. you don't want chips with everything for your evening meals at £9.99.
3. the hotel could benefit from touching up the paintwork in some areas.
nice location and overall we enjoyed our stay, but if you don't have any hot water you must let staff know as a lot of residents did not mention it to them.

Room Tip: we only saw room 21 and the suite but they both seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinallegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff very helpful and the cooked breakfast was delicious. We only stayed for 1 night on the way to Northumberland. It was a great start to our discovering the Romans and Hadrian wall trip as there is a reconstructed Roman fort in South Shields.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRiggersNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my husband who had to attend a course close by at a college. This was a lovely relaxing hotel, the room we had was a large one on ground floor, with a massive bathroom, the only downside was the saniflo system, water did not drain and you were standing in dirty water. Rooms were made up every day with clean towels, plenty tea and coffee and biscuits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed last week at Sir William Fox Hotel for three nights on visit to North East for Graduation ceremony at Sunderland University.Had a twin room no.14 to the back of the building very pleasant and quiet.Good size room with en-suite having a full size bath and plenty of hot water towels .Beds were very comfortable and dressed with nice white linen.Breakfast was excellent as were the staff who served it.Overall very pleasant historical setting Good value for money Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damhsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Booked a double room, number 22, very nice room, clean and welcoming.
Staff were really nice and there's a bar in the dining area and outside beer garden.
Very nice breakfast and good service.
Parking is round the back on a one-way system so don't miss the turning!
Its 3 star but could do with a little tlc here and there!
Overall we enjoyed the stay and friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for room 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevvy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had a single room. The furthest point away from the entrance. The en suite was tiny. Basin was the size of an egg cup. Couldn't even use the loo without bumping into the walls, the basin etc. TV didn't work. Wifi was touch and go. No bedside lamp or anywhere to put it. Tatty hand towel. The kettle was 3 times the size of the basin and had to fill it with the plastic cup from the 'bathroom'. Car park was a devil to get to. Tea/coffee facilities good although the cup and saucer were different colour/type. The room needed decorating badly. On the positive side. Bed linen was clean, fairly comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good. The staff at breakfast were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing