We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Had a really good stay there last night. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, spacious rooms and great bath! Can't go wrong for forty quid a night. Don't be expecting huge amounts of luxury but the hotel represents very good value and it made for a pleasant stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tbrynmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

First and foremost the staff were all very helpful, the room was clean, and the breakfast was good. It seemed the part of the hotel we were in was a bit run down. Overall more could by made of the building being Sir William Fox's home with better decoration, a lick of paint here and there and more period pieces.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgregthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

the room was clean and a great size, with a great bathroom which again was very clean.

Service was prompt with a smile, and nothing was too much to ask, food was good too.

As a regular to South Shields / Newcastle I will defo stop again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It was a bit of a challenge to find the car park but once located we realised we had found a real gem. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms clean, modern and comfortable with everything you need. The free wifi was a bonus, the bed comfy and a good hearty breakfast. All this and it was reasonably priced. Great stay. Thanks.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

stayed 27th sept 2013. we were in room called the suite, beautiful room, lovely breakfast. totally spoilt by a young couple above us who talked and laughed until 1 am, and started again at 6.30 am staff were friendly. Hotel is situated in a road in Westhoe part of South Shields, in a beautifull street which has been used as a back drop for Catherine Cookson films.

Room Tip: suite rooms are large beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpT6123ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my husband for one night as we wanted somewhere local to stay after running the Great North Run. I have to say we were very impressed. We stayed in room 21 which was on the top floor. It was very spacious and quiet and the decor was modern and tasteful with a large bathroom and lovely fluffy white towels. The room could have been slightly warmer but I think my bones were chilled through after running 13 miles in the wind and rain and I felt like I would never be warm again!
The breakfast the following morning was lovely. We had juice, coffee, toast and a fab cooked breakfast.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in South Shields. There are some great restaurants nearby, we had a meal at the Orange Grass Thai which was 5 minutes away in a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shidancal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a nice large room with a good bathroom, good TV, nice big bed, Tea & Coffee with biscuits. There is no AC so it can get a little warm but we had the window open and it was ok and not too noisy but if you are a light sleeper it could be a problem for you.
Staff and the owner are very nice and the hotel is also dog friendly which was handy for us.
The breakfast was very nice apart from the sausages which unlike everything else seem very cheap.
Didn't eat in the restaurant as we ate out down at the beach but we did have a sticky toffee pudding as room service and that was very nice.
The hotel is a 5 minute drive down to the beach but you can walk it easily in 15 minutes.
Will definately stay again when we go over to the east coast.
Nice place and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWILL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
431 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
66 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
#9 of 9 in Whitley Bay
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing