We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir William Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great room, great breakfast.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights at the end of an 8 night holiday 'up north'. Of the 4 properties we stayed in this was the best by far. A great room as it was large, well maintained and quiet. Helpful staff and an excellent, hot and tasty breakfast. Plus free parking. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedynamicduo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    69
    32
    12
    11
See reviews for
35
72
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went here a few months back in April and on arrival discovered our travel provider Expedia or something like that had messed up our booking but the hotel were fantastic. They seated us in the bar and gave us a complimentary drink. We had booked two doubles but they had us down for a double and a single..they offered to pay the difference to send one couple to another hotel but as we wanted to stay together we said we would take the single and they didn't charge us for it! They gave us another complimentary round of drinks and were so friendly and helpful, rooms were gorgeous and clean and so pretty. In the morning they made us an earlier than scheduled breakfast as we had to leave....just amazing. The delightful girl who sorted everything was called Kelly as I recall.....definitely top marks for her customer service! All the other staff were fab too...if we are ever up north again we are coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My nephew and his wife where on holiday from Aus and as his sister my niece lives in South Shields we thought it would be nice to stay for a few days.I booked for ,my eldest sis his Mum, my nephew and his wife. my youngest sister and her husband surprised us by booking in for two nights enroute to Scotland .We had a wonderful time and found the Hotel very clean ,good location,a very good breakfast staff very friendly.We had a very Happy family reunion.Would definately recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: A good location,ask for a room on the front back rooms overlook the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisterpineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here quite a few times over the last ten years. It is close to family when we are visiting so it works out quite well. The rooms are nice and clean. We usually opt for a larger room on the second floor that provides for a little more room for our family.

Breakfast is always quite nice and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Prices are reasonable and worth the cost.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and loved every stay, great staff, warm welcome, great food, great rooms and a lovely clean environment. The breakfasts were very filling and a good variety, evening meals were fab. Hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaWalsh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here whilst on a course at the nearby college.

Its easy to find but as stated elsewhere the car park is round the back which means you have to go around the one way system to find it - its not difficult really and the reception gives good directions (or you could look on Google Maps). The car park is fairly sizeable considering the location and there is still space for a few tables and chairs on a small patio.

The hotel was full for the week I was there, some mature students like me, some families and some contractors.

The room was a good size (Room 22, second floor overlooking the car park), with a good selection of teas and coffee plus complimentary biscuits. The bed was very comfortable but of course that is a very individual thing. The first night I thought the place was haunted until I realised the creaking noises were coming from the water pipes which must be hidden in the walls somewhere (don't worry it only lasted for a couple of minutes!).

Breakfast was a selection of cereals, occasional pastries, juices and the usual full English plus tea/coffee and toast. Dinner was a selection from the menu. All were cooked very well and although not fancy were certainly tasty and the portions were generous. Previous reviews have said the dining room is a bit small, and it did get busy but then its a small hotel.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Even though the college is very close there is no noise from the students in the evenings and the immediate area (Westoe Village) is quiet, "rather select" looking and full of history (there is an information board near the roundabout).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greshmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just wanted to review this hotel and this is my first review on tripadvisor. This hotel is fabulous staff cannot be faulted especially Kelly, who i had to wake through the night Saturday when I couldn't locate my room key, which I have now done by the way so I will post the room key this week. All staff were lovely couldn't be faulted. Spoke to the owner sunday who was extremely friendly and pleasant like his staff. We occupied 3 rooms Friday one being the suite which was beautiful, and 5 rooms Saturday all of my party was extremely happy with the rooms allocated, excellent value for money, lovely staff, smart rooms and tasty breakfast what more do you want. Best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#2 of 25 in South Shields
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clifton Guest House
Clifton Guest House
#1 of 25 in South Shields
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir William Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir William Fox Hotel

Property: Sir William Fox Hotel
Address: 5 Westoe Village, South Shields NE33 3DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir William Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Sir William Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing