We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'First Class Value, First Class Food and Service”
Review of The Italian Retro

The Italian Retro
Ranked #11 of 195 Restaurants in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“'First Class Value, First Class Food and Service”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Where else could you get a three course lunch for a fiver?

The choice of dishes was varied. The homed made vegeable soup was tasty and filling and the chicken stroganoff was absoulely delightful. Infact both dishes were so wholesome, that I was unable to manage dessert. I was informed that apple pie and custard was the perfect pudding.

Needless to say, I will be going back because Sean and his team welcomed us and nothing was too much trouble for them, Thank you !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    96
    49
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Enjoyed the food but it wasnt anything special, waited a very long time for our food to arrive and just couldnt seem to get anyones attention to ask for the bill, it wasnt rush hour so dont know what the delay was.

Helpful?
Thank SUEYCAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Oh dear very disappointed”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Went here as a foursome for my brothers birthday and have to say I was really looking forward to it after reading the reviews on here. the pork ribs starter with chicken wings for starter was ok , pork fell off the bone and was very tasty however the chicken wings were bland and greasy. I ordered the fillet steak in madiera sauce for main and when it arrived it was well presented, unfortunately the sauce tasted like sherry thickened with cornflour, the well done steak was very dry, a little tough (surprisingly for fillet) and had the texture of liver!!! I ordered chips with it, which were presented in a mini chip basket (nice touch) however some the chips were hard in the middle and were either oven chips or frozen they were definately not fresh. You may ask why i didn't say anything at the time well it was my brothers birthday and I didn't want to spoil the night by making a fuss. After speaking to the others when we'd left it turns out the rest were a disappointed as me and i now wish i had said something. Would I go back? no

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1984tim, General Manager at The Italian Retro, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Sir,

I am very sorry that you and your family were disapointed with your meal.

I can asure you that our madiera sauce is homemade and doesn't contain sherry and certainly not cornflour (as we do not have this on site!). Madiera sauce can vary from restaurant to restaurant as a chefs interpretation, it is a very rich sauce so does not suit everyones pallet. With regard to your fillet steak we only use Grand Reserve beef which is locally sourced and of superb quality. However, when the steak is requested to be cooked "well done" the moisture is drawn out of the meat which obviously leaves it dry. Our chips are homemade (certainly not oven or frozen!), I do appologise however if some were a tad to hard, this can happen as they are sometimes cut slightly different sizes. If you had mentioned this to one of our floor staff we would have had more chips to your table instantly!!

In conclusion, I do hope you feel that I am not being highly critical of your review; I am simply giving you as much information as possible to the main points that you brought up that had a subjective element. We can only attempt to rectify situations there and then which is why we courtesy check, I really wish you had said something to me on the night so that I could have attempted to make your night more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Tim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely lovely!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I would recommend the Tavistock Italia Retro 100%! We had an extremely warm welcome from all the staff. The food was gorgeous and very reasonably priced! we will definitely dine there again!
Thanks
vicki xxx

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This is our second visit this week and we have eaten here on numerous occasions and cannot find fault with the food or service. The staff are always friendly and attentive and work very hard as it is always busy. The restaurant itself is very nicely decorated and there is lots of room in-between tables. We have ate from the a la carte menu, happy hour and lunch time specials so there is something to suit everyone’s price range, but whatever menu we have chosen the food is always delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karened01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Retro also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Italian Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing