We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of momataj - CLOSED

momataj
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Terrible food, awful service. Didnt listen to the order properly got most of it wrong. Terrible quality meat and drinks were watered down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best on Ocean Road !!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I have been going to the 'momo' for many years now, as have the rest of my family and I just have to say that the food is excellent. The waiters are extremely friendly and always have a smile! The portion size is HUGE (so always some to take home) and the price is unbelievably cheap. This is by far the BEST Indian restaurant I have ever been to and in the North East. We have friends that travel from Stanington to go to this restaurant because they love it so much. This is well worth a visit and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“give it amiss”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

visited there on saturday night arrived at 9,30 only one couple in the place ordered drinks and a starter not impressed and told them i didnt want the main but happy to pay for what id had .the LOVLEYwaiter informed me that i had to pay for the whole meal which i refused after a further argument when i told him to call the police if he wasnt happy the eventualy brought my bill charging me just for the starters & drinks.there are many restuarunts in ocean road & i would recomend anyone to visit one of those & give this one a miss.unless you want to spoken to like [--]

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good take away”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Some restaurants do not provide a take away delivery service? But momo does! Speedy delivery and fab food! Bhuna prawn on purée was enormous, needed extra chapatti to finish! Tarka dhal was lovely and no complaints about the veggie balti!! Good value for £14 for two!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

went in last night with few off my friends just the girls,had a curry called goufi the best curry ever not too hot just right for me but i love spicy food but too much too drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sim430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed momataj also viewed

South Shields, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing